Winter.

Bike snow Greta5
JohnNolenSnow

Clockwise from left: Christmas Eve day in Minneapolis; Minneapolis; biking by the lake in Madison, WI.

Photos are from a biking site the #2 Son directed me to. None of the bikers are he.

Besides the high-tex windproof balaclava and SmartWool glove liners I gave him for Christmas, he has invested in some other winter biking gear.

DSCF1112 

Mega-tread tires with tungsten carbide studs. ("Tungsten carbide drills? Oooh, aren't we posh?" — name that quote)

.

Once the snow came, he parked his really good bike and rides this one instead.

DSCF1114 

Still a Bianchi, but quite a clunker compared to the summer one.

We have had a fair bit of fog lately, which makes the trees… awesome.

IMG_0579

IMG_0582

This entry was posted in Biking, Family, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Winter.

  1. sparrowgrass says:

    Well, you know how I feel about all that.
    Has your son seen a psychiatrist about his behavior? I would worry.

  2. Kitten says:

    awesome! those are some seriously crazy tires.

  3. Cindy says:

    Every time we’re in Madison in the winter, I’m amazed to see bikers out. Brrrrr.
    It does seem to be mostly guys. Maybe the women have more sense?

  4. Jocelyn says:

    Sounds like there’s another big storm coming this weekend. I hope this time those of us near the lake get actual SNOW and not rain.
    Oh, and those biking pix are great.

  5. Kym says:

    LOVE the foggy-tree shots. Really nice! My dad made “chains” for his bike tires when he was a lad — so he could ride his bike in the snow and ice. I’m going to have to show him your son’s winter-techno tires!

  6. soxanne says:

    Great tree shots.
    On the U of M campus there are always bikers, in all weather, and I’m always amazed. Even with the fancy tires and all the other gear I would never bike in winter. Everyone said I was crazy when I was an undergrad (c. 1981) – I biked in good weather from Bloomington to the U of M campus. My how times have changed; I was such a wuss!

  7. Chris says:

    He’s crazy. Crazy! πŸ™‚

  8. Cookie says:

    Love the tires and I’m so glad he’s not using his best bike during the winter. Does he build them from the frame up like my slightly crazy ex? Or does he get them already put together?
    I think the ice is what makes those trees look so amazing.

  9. lisa says:

    Isn’t it so hard to capture the magic of ice on branches? I can never get those glints of light…

  10. Nora says:

    It’s a little crazy, but is it really any crazier than strapping boards to your feet and bombing down a hill so fast you could get killed? At least the bikers are going somewhere!

  11. Anna says:

    Gorgeous tree photos! Winter and icy trees make for such lovely photo ops…

  12. tinebeest says:

    I could have done with those tyres a few weeks back! If only I knew of their existence! Could you ask him what he does for footwear when it rains? I’m just anticipating the next phase of our lovely English climate…
    Trees+mist+frost=something very nice to look at.

  13. The #2 Son says:

    @tinebeest
    Wool wool wool!
    I don’t try and keep the water completely out, but rather embrace it and wear my lightweight, highly-breathable cycling shoes with a pair or two of wool socks on underneath that wick the moisture away while keeping my feet warm. But I’m sure I don’t need to explain to you knitters the wonderful properties of wool πŸ™‚
    I’ve heard some people use plastic breadbags between their socks and shoes in all sorts of nasty weather. It serves as protection from wet/cold/wind. I have yet to try this.
    @Cookie
    I bought the bike as a complete but I upgraded the following: wheelset, tires, tubes, crankset, bottom bracket, pedals, chain, cog, brakes, brake housings, brake levers, bar tape, seatpost, saddle, and added lights, fenders, rear rack, water bottle cages, a bell, and an airhorn.
    If you lost count, all that leaves is the frame, fork, headset, stem, and handlebars πŸ™‚
    Here’s the most recent pics:
    http://www.mplsbikelove.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=15602
    @all
    Yup, I’m crazy.

Leave a Reply

