The entire Olympic team, equipment and all.

Okay, I'm gonna go all snarky on you today. I try not to do that because y'all could certainly find lots to make fun of about me. But the temptation is just too strong.

This weekend Smokey got the TV antenna lined up just right for me so I could watch the Olympics. (Fringe area + antenna only = TV reception problematic.) The only part that I, like so many others, am interested in is the figure skating. It seems the men's singles were on last week… missed them, darn.

But I have been watching the ice dancing. And I have to say this.

Maxim Shabalin, the male half of the Russian team with those ridiculous *aboriginal* costumes, has the biggest damn nostrils on the planet.

1 

Every so often during the skating the camera would catch him with his head tilted back, and I'd think, "Dang! That guy must be able to inhale enough oxygen for three people!"

4

I tried to find a picture online to illustrate this view. No luck, probably because photo editors the world over hit DELETE about half a second after seeing any photo taken from that angle.

3 5

This was the best — or worst — I could find:

2 

Let's look at him a little closer, shall we?

2.1 

There is enough room in there for the entire Russian Olympic team, equipment and all.

This entry was posted in Rants, various. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The entire Olympic team, equipment and all.

  1. Kym says:

    I am reading your blog while drinking a cup of coffee. Let’s re-phrase that. . . I am choking on my coffee while laughing hysterically at your blog. Thanks for starting my morning off with a smile! 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    You have a point there. Oh my.

  3. cursingmama says:

    I did not like them AT ALL. In fact, ThePrincess and I may have committed the worst spectator no-no and booed during their Original Dance and Free Dance. Ah, well….
    If you can get them online the Mens programs were EXCELLENT!

  4. marianne says:

    Hee!
    I was there for the snowboarding, well, not ‘there’. you know what I mean.

  5. Berta in Texas says:

    Now, be kind. When you are reduced to using leftover costumes from Gilligan’s Island some pity should be shown. Then again, maybe not.

  6. Vicki says:

    Hahahaha. Do watch the men’s programs, if you can!!

  7. Jocelyn says:

    I dunno. Snarky suits you.
    So I had a friend in college whose claim to fame was that he could put a quarter in his nostril and hold it there since his nostril was exactly as big as the quarter; this Russian guy could up that and use a fifty-cent piece.

  8. Jeff says:

    Funny how, once you key in on something like nostrils, pretty soon that’s all you see. I’ll bet Maxim has never had need for Breathe Right nasal strips.

  9. Diane says:

    Looks like Halloween came early this year for the Russians.

  10. Cookie says:

    That’s your idea of snarky? Honey, we gotta talk.
    I see your point. However, I think it’s still better than nose so small you wonder how he can breathe at all. Michael Jackson comes to mind.
    xo

  11. soxanne says:

    Thanks for the giggle. I couldn’t stand to watch so I missed that tid-bit.

  12. lisa says:

    snickering at the snarky… I wasn’t especially fond of them either, thinking them pretentious in some way. You do know that the FDA doesn’t consider fortune cookies food, right? So they don’t “regulate” them… not that the FDA does a smash job of what they’re supposed to be paying attention to…

  13. tammy says:

    And sometimes, he looks like he wants to be Keith Urban.

Leave a Reply

