The knitter frogs when necessary.

I tried on the multicolor striped raglan to check out the sleeve.

Oops.

IMG_0809

Note: this sweater is planned to be a standard raglan pullover. It is NOT intended to have kimono-style sleeves. No matter how appealing that alternative might seem mid-sweater.

Sleeve has been frogged back to the underarm, arm has been remeasured (it is 16", not the 20" I got when I measured it myself; note to self: do not rely on self-measurements that were extremely awkward to obtain), rate of decrease has been recalculated, and four inches have been reknit.

Sigh.

* * * *

ETA: Hurrah for 4-1/2 hours of Oscar TV! The sleeve is nearly reknit and looking much more like a sleeve should look:

IMG_0811

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The knitter frogs when necessary.

  1. Cindy says:

    Yeah, self measurement can be a b***h.
    Love the colors.

  2. Diane says:

    I always think my arms are shorter than they are particularly when I get to that.last.inch.of.knitting.that.will.NOT.grow. grrrr

  3. cursingmama says:

    Arms frighten me more than socks. I love the stripes!

  4. Kym says:

    I hate it when that happens. . .

  5. Cookie says:

    Thank goodness you caught it before the second sleeve.

  6. I’ve had a few of those myself. Looking much better now!

  7. soxanne says:

    I have a friend who refers to frogging as, “taking control of your knitting” so kudos to you for taking control. It looks great and with non-kimono sleeves you’ll probably use it a lot more.

  8. Chris says:

    Much better!

  9. lisa says:

    I’m doing that with a sweater that was in time out… I’m a little tired of ripping and re-knitting… and then dh’s finally put on the recent sweater I made him, and the sleeves are too long. He rolled them today, but they need to be pulled back about 2 inches. Good thing they’re top down… But really I want to knit something crazy. Small and crazy.

  10. Lucia says:

    I hate when that happens. I presume that is you and not the yarn changing the colors. Well done.

  11. Helen says:

    Ahh yes… the perpetual sleeve. I remember that sleeve — it happened here on the wolf hoodie that is still peacefully hoping I’ll install the darned zipper already.

  12. Jocelyn says:

    I like to think Sandra Bullock’s acceptance speech was a turning point for your sweater.

  13. Vicki says:

    Much better! I’ve been known to ATTEMPT the self-measurement with a ruler, even, rather than a tape — or with a metal tape instead of fabric/plastic. Yeah. Never works out very well. ; )

  14. gayle says:

    Frog on! Sometimes you just have to be ruthless…
    Glad it’s going smoother now.

  15. Cathy-Cate says:

    All good knitters do frog when necessary. Sigh.
    Looking good now!

Leave a Reply

