Sunday. Random.

Claire asked where exactly that mysterious noise was coming from in my office. Here is the suspected area of origin:

IMG_0824

There is nothing electronic or alive or capable of making a sound in that pile. Believe me, I have checked. The little black space heater, lower center, is unplugged.

Wait.

::light bulb over The Kat™'s head!!!::

I have an oil-filled heater under my desk.

IMG_0825

Perhaps that is what makes the noise? I'd swear the sound is coming from elsewhere in the room, but perhaps… From where I sit the oil-filled heater is at twelve o'clock high; the apparent origin of the sound is at four or five o'clock.

I shall perform some experiments and report back.

* * * * *

Sun! The sun is shining today! Clear blue skies! Hallelujah!

After a week of fog and rain, the sun is very welcome.

IMG_0827 IMG_0826 

At left, above, is our bathroom with its solar tube (no window). I know as soon as I open my eyes in the morning whether the sun is shining by how bright it is in the bathroom. This morning it was BLINDING! At right, the view out the solarium window toward the driveway and the woods.

IMG_0828

It feels so mild outside one does not need a coat. (The thermometer above is in the shade; it is much warmer in the sun.)

The snow is nearly gone from our front yard.

IMG_0830 

The lake is still iced over, but not for long. No vehicles on it since last Sunday. Behold: rotten ice.

IMG_0829 

Spring fever hit Lucy today. She got away from Smokey and went for a runaround. You may not be able to tell, but her paws are wet and muddy.

IMG_0831

…and there is a big doggy smile on her face.

* * * * *

When I set my watch forward today I set it to the second using www.time.gov.

Screen-capture-4

I used to put this site up on my monitor every morning when the boys were getting ready for school. (At that time the page had a cleaner appearance, without all that text in the lower half, and the numerals were larger. The text is all about the change to Daylight Savings Time today, so tomorrow the page may go back to looking like I remember it.) The monitor was in the dining/living room and the boys could see it. I found it helped them remember to keep moving and lessened the need for motherly reminders to Hurry up! It's almost time to leave for school!

And that is my parenting tip for the year.

* * * * *

When Matthew was here a few weeks back I asked him if he had lost the hat I knit him for Christmas (STR Raven Clan, "Corbie") yet, knowing that he probably had. I was right. He was sad about the loss and told me of his efforts to find the hat. I know my boy; he has many good qualities, but keeping track of things — even important possessions — is often beyond his ability, so I didn't berate him for losing it.

We picked out more STR for a replacement, and it arrived on Friday.

IMG_0832 

Given the current weather situation he may not need this until next winter, but I am taking time off from the multicolored striped raglan to knit the hat. In my own experience, it is easier to lose a black thing than an almost-white thing; he may be able to hold onto this one longer.

This entry was posted in Animals, Antler Lake, Family, hats, knitting, Miscellaneous, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Sunday. Random.

  1. tammy says:

    Okay, two things,
    1. If it’s not the heater, get out of there. Just seal the room, it’s obviously haunted or worse, i.e. zombies under the floorboards.
    2. Nice STR hat! What colour is that?
    Happy Sunday, I’m glad it’s warming up for you. 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Hmm. Maybe you should hold onto the hat until next winter so it isn’t lost over the summer. I see that it’s 63F right now! Woot!

  3. Lynne says:

    Oo, I love that glass “head” – gorgeous. Hope he can keep this hat longer.
    Love the shots of the lake – so picturesque. Of course, I don’t have to live there – we don’t even have snow in my little corner of the world although we occasionally get frost!

  4. Erika says:

    Ahaha I’m so glad I’m not the only one plagued by mysterious noises! Remember when I heard an electronic voice say “Hi, I Furby!” and then I finally found the source like A YEAR LATER?
    I agree that it’s probably the heater. Those do make a sort of pinging/smacky/bubbling/ticky noise at the oddest times. My dog breeder uses them to heat the puppy room, so I have spent many hours listening to their various quirks while caring for puppies.

  5. Cathy-Cate says:

    Apparently you know your child well….
    And you are a loving mother.
    Oh, the sunshine was so welcome this morning! Especially as I haz a quite sick. I have some downstream complications of a respiratory bug, and am on megasteroids, and have decided I do not care for either of them. But I guess breathing is important, so I will soldier on! The sun helps my mental frame of mind, definitely.
    I think it’s a ghost cat bather, myself.

  6. Mel says:

    Consider yourself lucky Lucy didn’t come back with a face full of porcupine quills &/or reeking of skunk. They’ve become very active in this neck of the woods lately.
    The oil heater is a very likely culprit for the noise. I’ve had one or three over the years and they gurgle a bit when circulating the oil. Another thought I had was whether the room has acoustical properties that would carry cat noises from a distance to that part of the room. Kind of like in the Capitol dome in DC.

  7. Claire Piper says:

    oh absolutely the oil heater. I have a couple of them and they make the weirdest noises on the planet (next to a basket of baby mice, that is) And certainly the sounds maybe reflecting around and coming to your ears in a strange way.

  8. marylou says:

    I have one of those heaters and it does make strange noises. Or you are possessed. That is always a possibility.

  9. Diane says:

    I was going to vote for the heater or possession but I see that’s already been well covered.

  10. Ryan says:

    Speaking of possessions and hauntings and eerie disappearances, I was trying very hard to figure out how the “red” in the yarn for the second hat was disappearing by the time it got to the hat. D’oh. Yarn bra!

  11. =Tamar says:

    I wonder whether the color of the new hat may help in another way as well. I have a theory that black hats are more likely to vanish, not just because they disappear in dark places but because, well, more males will wear a black hat than will wear other colors. They’re sort of anonymous (even in the lovely Raven colorway). So a black hat will be picked up from wherever it landed, while another color may be left in place.

Leave a Reply

