The eagle has landed.

Tuesday morning I got up early (for me, 8 a.m. is waayyy early) to attend a county committee meeting. On my way there I saw a l-o-n-g V of geese heading north. Spring comes to the Great Frozen Tundra!

It turned out that I could not sit in — something about certain rules or
statutes that I was not aware of — so I returned home. On my way I saw something else, something that warranted turning the car around and taking some pictures.

Eagle 1

I am pretty sure that is a bald eagle and not a turkey vulture, but Jeff? If you are reading this? Please feel free to set me straight (again).

The eagle stayed put for a minute or two, then decided it had had enough of that big red thing sitting at the side of the road.

Eagle 2

Eagle 3

Let's play "find the eagle", shall we? As always, click to embiggify.

Eagle 4

Eagle 5

Eagle 6

Eagle 7

* * * * *

Lest you think living in the woods is all joy, Smokey reminded me to put up this photo.

Tick 

The first wood tick of the season, this one plucked from Hannibal the Fluffball of Doom.

This entry was posted in Animals, Rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The eagle has landed.

  1. Jeff says:

    You have correctly identified Haliaeetus leucocephalus. I could have done without the tick pic.

  2. Way cool eagle! (Even if it turns out to be a turkey vulture again.)
    I’m not fond of ticks. All my dogs get a monthly preventative–and we live in the suburbs. My husband has an almost pathological aversion to them. I actually found a dead one in our bed two days ago–ick! I’m thinking it got on one of the dogs, bit it, and died, as it’s supposed to. Then the dog hopped on the bed, and viola. I’m not telling my husband. I like our bed and don’t want to see it turned into a backyard bonfire.

  3. Ryan says:

    SO not a turkey vulture. SO a bald eagle. (Dunno if you read about this when I posted this in my blog a long time ago but there’s a bald eagle that frequently sits on one of the light posts on a bridge that I commute over every day, and I’m always mistaking its dark, blockish silhouette for a traffic camera. Which makes it a little startling when the traffic camera up and flies away.)
    I heart bald eagles. Thank you for posting this!

  4. Chris says:

    Definitely an eagle. đŸ™‚

  5. Erika says:

    Haha, nope, definitely an eagle! There’s a nesting pair about a mile from my house, and Skagit County is famous for its bald eagle population, so I see them all the time.
    (Somewhat unnerving to see one swoop through the yard eyeballing the chickens. But that is why I fenced in the top of their pen, too!)

  6. sparrowgrass says:

    Nice!! I picked the first tick a week or two ago–an unfailing sign of spring.

  7. Cookie says:

    Isn’t he lovely?!
    No, not the tick.

  8. lisa says:

    Yep, fer sure and absolutely an eagle! We’ve been pulling off ticks for a couple weeks… even w/ the frontline.

  9. k says:

    I’ve been seeing a lot of eagles this spring. I think they’re planning on taking over. (Since I got close to one a few years ago, they kinda spook me.)

  10. Bullwinkle says:

    Excellent eagle and pix. I know how hard those are to get.
    I know where “my” eagle lives – so it is not unusual to see him and her and (hopefully) the new young ‘uns. I’m not sure what I’d think coming across one unexpectedly. (But I’m sure I could convince myself it was a turkey vulture.)

  11. tammy says:

    Shudder. The tick pic is making me feel kind of creepy and itchy!

  12. Jocelyn says:

    I was totally bemoaning that you’d been turned away AFTER GETTING UP WAY TOO EARLY…but then the eagle made it all worth the lost zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzs.
    Great pix!

  13. Cathy-Cate says:

    I heard the geese a few days ago. And thought, YAY! SPRING! And the eagles have been down here all winter, but now that the ice is off the water for the most part, I guess they’re heading back to parts North! *North, to Alaska, head North, the rush is on.*
    My pictures of them are usually much blurrier and farther away, though: those are great shots! (I did not have my camera with me, the time two eagles were in the park a half block from my house. It was very odd seeing them perched in the maple trees like run-of-the-mill grackles or something….except HUGE. I thought the branches would break!)
    Hooray for spring! Boo on ticks! (It was April last year when I got Lyme disease, from a nymph.)

  14. soxanne says:

    Looove everything except the tick.

Leave a Reply

