How to start a center-pull ball.

Thumb
…without a ball winder or nostepinne.

This entry was posted in knitting, Silliness. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to How to start a center-pull ball.

  1. Dorothy says:

    I like using the cardboard tube from a TP roll. By slightly tearing the cardboard, you can insert the yarn end in the notch for stability. Thumbs are almost always more available though. 🙂

  2. Cookie says:

    You are so good.

  3. Amy says:

    That’s it? And you just keep the tail hanging out? I can do that.

  4. lisa says:

    Whatcha makin?

  5. Gillian says:

    I do it a bit differently, starting around three fingers, then two, then moving to my thumb.

  6. Cindy G says:

    Hmmm, I start with a figure eight around two fingers, fold that in half and wind around that held against two fingers. I need to try your method, looks more simple.

  7. Chris says:

    I do remember those days. 🙂

  8. Kym says:

    Are you kidding? That seems so easy. . . Seriously, I never thought to try that. (And I wind all my yarn “by hand.”)

  9. Bullwinkle says:

    Was this, like, emergency ball winding cuz you ran out of something to knit? I hope you weren’t driving 😉

  10. Cathy-Cate says:

    And you can hitch a ride simultaneously if the yellow car breaks down!

  11. gayle says:

    That’s what I do, too. (I call it my Organic Nostepinne.) Though I start over 2 fingers, then shift to my thumb.
    Who needs to waste valuable yarn dollars on a ball-winder?

Leave a Reply

