Yarn, yay!

A package arrived today… from Webs!

Yarn box

They were having a sale, you know. (When are they NOT having a sale?)

Yarn inside 

This sale, however, had a couple things that were exactly what I wanted needed.

Yarn pace
Pace sock yarn from Universal Yarn Co. in solid colors. I have been accumulating solid color sock yarn for several years in anticipation of a sweater that exists only in my head. Frankly, I think I finally have enough yarn in enough different colors for it to work. Now to actually knit the thing…

Cascade 220 for $4.99/skein. I am running out of felt-able worsted weight yarn, so this was an excellent opportunity to restock. Those felted potholders are eating up a remarkable number of oddball skeins of KnitPicks Wool of the Andes — time for some more worsted, Cascade this time because it is legendarily better.
Yarn cascade 

I substituted some Ella Rae and Plymouth Galway worsted for a couple of the Cascade colors I had originally picked.
Yarn ella galway 

Yay, new yarn!

This entry was posted in Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Yarn, yay!

  1. Hee, hee, my WEBS box arrives tomorrow. I celebrated the end of a semester (and my first year back at school) by getting the pattern and yarn for the high line cardi. Can’t wait!
    I missed the sale on 220, rats, but that’s actually a good thing, especially for my closet and wallet!

  2. I am waiting for some lovely angora from Webs myself. I resisted for the entire month of April, but evidently the beginning of a new month was too much for my willpower.

  3. Erika says:

    Ooh what a big smooshy box I just want to stick my arms in there and rummage around!!!

  4. tammy says:

    Mmmmmmm, new yarn. I’ve not heard of that sock yarn. Have you used it before? Is it good? Wait, why am I asking? I so do not need new yarn. Oy! Temptress!

  5. Nora says:

    I will not click over to Webs. I will not click over to Webs. I will not… /click

  6. mary lou says:

    I have been strong in not clicking thru from the Webs sale email. Perhaps I shouldn’t have looked at these pictures either. I am trying to purge a bunch of stuff in my house and haven’t even got to the yarn stash yet.

  7. Big Alice says:

    Wooohoo yarn!
    I was cleaning/reorganizing/diving in my stash when the Webs email arrived, which kind of dampened my enthusiasm for new yarn. Maybe I should just package some of it up and then mail it to myself so that I can get a package of squishy yarn in the mail. 😉

  8. cursingmama says:

    It’s been sooooo long since I got a package of wool in the mail. I think, to make me feel better I should stop by Double Ewe and buy some.

  9. Kym says:

    I got a Webs box last week! 🙂 Nothing like mail-order wool, I always say! (How can you resist Cascade 220 for $4.99/skein? Or Noro Silk Garden for $4.99/skein? I couldn’t. . .)

  10. Bullwinkle says:

    hee hee – I once ordered 1 of every color of Cascade 220 that they had. Loved it. (er … still do. But now I also appreciate a good color card.)

  11. Helen says:

    It took a LOT of will power to ignore that sale.
    Especially the Cascade 220 part….
    but I did… I resisted.
    so far…
    (please tell me it’s over soon)

Leave a Reply

