The bears are awake.

Trash cans

Taken Tuesday evening. Happily, all the cans were empty; otherwise, there would be coffee grounds, banana peels, and styrofoam take-out boxes scattered as far as the eye can see. Our trash pick-up is every Thursday. We have learned (through hard experience) that 1, they tend to come between noon and 1 pm, and B, everything works better if take the trash to the can that morning.

Note: I plan to move my compost pile to where it is more easily accessible from the house so that I am more likely to add to it. And yesterday we reorganized all the plastic icebox dishes so there is a unique pair dedicated to the knitting bag; that way they will ALWAYS be with us if we decide to eat somewhere and have leftovers to bring home.

Edited to add: Although there have been bears living in the woods around our lake for a number of years and we know they investigate our trash cans at the end of the driveway on a regular basis, we have never seen any evidence of them near the house. If they ever discover the compost pile…

This entry was posted in Animals, Antler Lake. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The bears are awake.

  1. tammy says:

    Oh. Oh my.

  2. sparrowgrass says:

    My first year in Ely I was all excited because our birdfeeders were torn down and emptied–everyone else knew to bring them in before the bears awakened.

  3. Heather says:

    This trash can is too empty!
    This trash can is too full!
    This trash can is juuuuust right!

  4. soxanne says:

    Holy cow! I’ll quit whining about the squirrels and the bunnies now.

  5. cursingmama says:

    I no longer carry a knitting bag with me everywhere. BUT! I think I’ll still add some old plastic carryout containers to my stash of stuff in the car so I stop with the Styrofoam as well.

  6. k says:

    Why would bears eat compost? They are looking for candy, specifically chocolate candy.
    We used to camp in Glacier a lot. When they went nuts and bear-proofed the garbage, the incidence of grizzly bear miscarriage went way up. The cause? Poor nutrition.
    You want my Glacier bear stories?

  7. Cookie says:

    Must be spring. ;^)

  8. Bullwinkle says:

    Kewl! (Sorry if you don’t appreciate my enthusiasm.)
    However, my experience has been (o.k. not with bear but with, uh, large monkeys and elephants) if they are hungry enough, they will find the compost. (My sister has bear. Does that increase my credibility?)

Leave a Reply

