Sock projects,

I dug through my sock yarn stash to decide on sock projects to bring along on vacation.

Yarn sock stash (Photo taken after I had already plucked The Chosen Yarns.)

Yarn mtn colors

The first choice is some Mountain Colors Bearfoot,
colorway Juniper, that I won in Lisa's snow melt contest last year. This yarn cried out to be knit concurrently with the Noro striped sweater for which you saw the yarn yesterday. Don't you agree that a pair of socks from this lovely stuff would be the perfect accessory for that sweater? Yes, I thought you would.

I wound it into a ball on Saturday, but decided I should
swatch and throw the it into the laundry just to be sure it would
stand up to my rather careless care of socks. (I don't refuse to hand wash
socks.) If it proves to require more tender care than I can provide I'll save it for a
lacy scarf, and instead bring along this, purchased here, which would also be great with that sweater and which I swatched and washed last year:

Yarn pgwd grn

Both of those yarns are dark and thus suitable for daylight knitting. When the light is dim, say, in the car after dark when I am using my headlamp, these aging eyes prefer that I work with light-colored yarn.

Behold:

Yarn opal wht brn 

That is Opal Starken Zarkus, colorway 2006, bought somewhere in the past year. This yarn marks my efforts to purchase sock yarns that will produce socks whose colors blend in my wardrobe rather than scream COLOR! FUN! I love Opal yarn for socks; it feels like no nonsense, like it will last forever.

Yarn opal clown

Just in case the Opal socks knit up so quickly that I need a second light-colored sock project, here we have Trekking XXL, colorway "Clown Barf" 156, purchased here and which color marks my inconsistent approach to the color theory mentioned above. Trekking has much the same feel to me as Opal. "This is sock yarn."

This entry was posted in Socks, Travel, Vacation, Wyoming, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Sock projects,

  1. gayle says:

    I looked at the first photo and thought, “Well, that looks about right. Vacation is more than just one week, after all.”

  2. Chris says:

    LOL – like Gayle, I thought the first picture was the yarn you were taking on vacation.

  3. k says:

    (Deadhead your petunias, woman!)
    I suffer the dreaded Socks! Color! syndrome. But I love my yellow socks (sadly, only two pair so far). I pretend I’m a character from some T.H. Lawrence novel, expressing my inner wild child through acceptably concealed socks. Which works until I start wearing skirts.

  4. So…how long are you going to be on vacation?
    I dearly love Mountain Color Bearfoot. It holds up fine to machine washing, but it definitely “blooms” (I would almost call it felting). Not in a bad way at all–the fabric gets really thick and soft and it feels like wearing fleece on your feet. I would NOT put them in the dryer, though. I hang mine from a skirt hanger (the kind with clips) from a rod over the washer and they dry overnight. Definitely my favorite winter sock yarn.

  5. Cookie says:

    Looks like you’ve got a good plan in the works. I love Opal and Trekking. Those are the socks that have held up the best over the years.

  6. Big Alice says:

    Mmmm, lovely sock yarn stash.

  7. Lucia says:

    You have quite an impressive array there. (Says she who recently had to move her sock yarn to a larger box, only to find it escaping therefrom.)
    I think my next pair of socks will be Bearfoot.

  8. Diane says:

    Now wouldn’t that be a great name for a sock color: Deadhead Your Petunias Woman! 🙂 Sorry couldn’t resist.
    Opal and Regia are both right up there for me in sock yarns. Trekking too although I haven’t used it all that much. Socks that can’t be machine washed don’t get worn (or washed) all that often in this house.

  9. lisa says:

    I saw that Mtn colors and thought, gee, don’t I have one like that? Nope! Not anymore! I have some socks from that yarn and they did bloom, and shrink a LITTLE… they wore through before they shrunk too much, but I only machine washed them, didn’t dry. Have fun making all those socks on your vacation!

  10. mary lou says:

    I’ll add that my Bearfoot experience was similar to those mentioned, blooms and slightly felts with machine washing, but not too much to make them unwearable. They end up more like a sport weight sock.

  11. k says:

    What size needle for Bearfoot? I was thinking size 2…

  12. Wait…how did it get to be time for your vacation again??? Time has flown by this year like I’ve never seen! I think you made wise choices in sock yarn. And Trekking is a fave of mine, too!

  13. soxanne says:

    I made a pair of socks for Pato in Mountain Colors and they wash up fine, although I never put them in the dryer and, frankly, he doesn’t get out much so I wouldn’t say they’ve experienced any kind of abuse or misuse…
    Another thing I did with a hank of (green) Mountain Colors was a LightAsAir scarf
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/soxanne/light-as-air-scarf
    although I’ll warn you that it’s not unlike the Montego Bay Scarf as far as the pattern…(although maybe having done this one first is what made MBS not so tricky for me).
    Whatever socks you make I think you should name them, “Deadhead Your Petunias!”

Leave a Reply

