New toy.

ITouch 1 ITouch 2
ITouch 3

When Matthew came up a couple weeks ago he had just gotten himself a new iPad Touch. It was awesome. I couldn't stop thinking about it.

eBay to the rescue!

The first picture above is the first screen, showing the basic apps that come with it. The second screen is games and other stuff, the third screen is primarily news apps; they were all free. (I did pay $1.99 for a downloadable book to read in the Kindle app.) The gadget has wireless internet access which is a trip in itself. It does pretty much everything an iPhone can do except make phone calls.

This is fun. I have been wanting a snazzy handheld gadget that could access the internet, but I couldn't justify the ongoing expense of a smart phone, especially since cell phone service here is rather limited. Not to mention that I really didn't NEED it; my Tracfone serves my needs perfectly well for <$50/year. Now I have exactly what I lusted for, but much cheaper.

This entry was posted in Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to New toy.

  1. Carole says:

    I loved mine too but got frustrated with the inability to use the apps if I wasn’t near a wi-fi connection. Now I have the iphone and I’m happier. And Hannah has my itouch and she’s happier, too. Have fun with yours!

  2. mary lou says:

    I love mine. I got a deal from someone who already had an iphone but got the touch free with a laptop purchase. I downloaded the free lightsaber app, now I need to find someone to have a battle with.

  3. gayle says:

    Amazing how much power you can hold in the palm of your hand…

  4. Diane says:

    Wait. Hold the phone. :->
    Your cell phone costs you less than $50 a YEAR? How does that work? I can’t find a basic calling plan, no data, no text, for under $20 a month including taxes. Since Jack uses a cell phone only for emergencies, we’re wasting a lot of money.

  5. Lene says:

    ‘Scuse me. I just reflexively drooled into my keyboard. šŸ˜‰

  6. sophanne says:

    my new favorite app for mine is one called iSpy. It shows webcams from around the world (including the San Diego Zoo cams) I was up half the night watching the sun rise in various places around the world!

  7. auntiemichal says:

    I have a tracfone, too. How are you getting yours for so little?? I’m averaging under $10 a month, but that’s about $100 a year.

  8. curisngmama says:

    I did the same thing to keep my cheap cell plan (Tmobile pre-pay); so far its serving my purposes quite well.

  9. Chris says:

    Have fun!

  10. My son has an iTouch and it is un-freakin’-believably cool! That sort of toy was inconceivable when I was a kid. But since a friend demonstrated her iPhone to me, that’s my new lust-after item.

  11. tammy says:

    Very pretty madame! I get a fair bunch of my books from here:
    http://manybooks.net/
    And I usually buy my books from here:
    http://www.kobobooks.com/
    Canadian, so you’ll get a break when your dollar is higher than ours. And now, I’m going to look away from the loveliness that is the iPad, lest I be tempted and wooed!

  12. soxanne says:

    Oh what fun – do you have the knitting apps? I want to know how you like it so I can contemplate doing the same … (dontcha love eBay?)

  13. I am not jealous. Nope. Not one little bit. That little bit of drool and the sudden need to surf away to Ebay…that means nothing. (OMG, that is sooo coooool!!!!!! Want-Want-WANT!!!)

  14. jordan r says:

    Very pretty madame! I get a fair bunch of my books from here:

Leave a Reply

