The itch factory is closed.

Yay! The dermatologist (Dr. Anastasios Pappas from South Dakota!) had a miracle cure.

First, he prescribed Predisone but pretty much told me not to take it. Check.

Then he described the cortisone cream I had been using as "baby stuff" and prescribed a stronger one. Check.

Then he told me about a time-consuming, putzy procedure that was guaranteed to work. O-kay…

Step one: apply a minimal dose of the cream to the affected area.

Step two: apply a thin layer of a particular over-the-counter ointment; in this case, Lubriderm Extra Special Super-Duper Skin Healing Ointment (not the exact title).

Step three: cover the area with tight-fitting wet cloth — long johns, whatever works.

Step four: encase the area in a waterproof covering — a windbreaker, a plastic bag, whatever works.

Step five: Leave this in place for an hour.

Step six: Do it twice a day.

Check!

Arms 

The first time I did it, I couldn't stand more than 45 minutes because the skin started itching. I ripped off the coverings and scratched. It was the most orgasmic, non-sexual sensation I have ever felt. Srsly.

Ahem.

The second time was a bit better, and I was able to leave the wrappings on for the full hour. After two treatments my skin was much, much better. Still a bit itchy, but nearly normal-looking on the upper arms.

In fact, it was so much better that during the couple days we spent packing and running errands and stopping the mail and tying up loose ends before the trip, I only did it once a day.

Whew. We were both afraid that we might have to cancel the trip, or, potentially worse, endure the itchy agony for the entire vacation.

* * * * *

Laundromat trip one day this week (that's five baskets; one is hiding behind the other four):

Laundry 

Washing machine still broken and will stay that way until we get home.

Dishwasher has decided not to drain. Ditto.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The itch factory is closed.

  1. Diane says:

    I never know what I’m going to find when I come here, it makes my day. Having basket envy after seeing yours. Glad to hear the itch is better.

  2. I’m so glad it worked!
    I had an allergic reaction to a wasp sting last year that caused the most fierce itching I have ever felt. I decided then that itching is far worse than pain. I didn’t sleep for three days. It was awful, so I know how relieved you must be.
    Enjoy your vacation!

  3. Kym says:

    Oh, I am so glad the itching is better. It would have been such a bummer to take The Itch on your vacation! Sorry about the washing machine . . . but your baskets are really wonderful! 🙂 (As for the dishwasher. . . ugh. When it rains, it pours.)

  4. Vicki says:

    Stupid appliances. So happy that you’ve found a cure!

  5. CindyG says:

    I like the sound of your dermatologist.

  6. Chris says:

    So glad you found relief (and that it wasn’t DH!).

  7. k says:

    Heh. I’ve tried to explain that particular scratching of the itch reaction, and no-one believes me.

  8. Lorette says:

    I just love that you posted the leg photo! You made my day. I’m glad the itch is better.

  9. Kimi says:

    glad the itch is better.
    Oh, by the way, I loved the Lost reenacted by cats video that you posted. I made my friends watch it.

  10. Bullwinkle says:

    Oh Yay! Glad you found relief; excellent photo!
    So sorry about the appliances. I’ve never experienced it to that extreme (myself) but I remember Mom saying she wasn’t in a hurry to get the washer fixed – it may take 10 loads but it all got done at once.

  11. gayle says:

    I’m glad the cure is working!
    I was picturing you doing the treatment on your camping trip. All you would have needed was a tinfoil hat to really freak out the folks at the next campsite…

  12. soxanne says:

    Hooray for miracle cures!
    Booo for broken appliances.

  13. Erika says:

    I actually like the laundromat. It’s an excellent example of why parallel processing is awesome.
    I’m so glad your itch is gone! Interesting cure, I’ll have to keep that in mind!

  14. I have no words. You were…plasticized! Is that a word? Maybe I did have one or two after all…
    I’m so glad you are feeling better, though. There is nothing worse than an itch. Except maybe a really BIG itch. I can’t even imagine!

  15. Big Alice says:

    Oh good news! Glad you are no longer itching.
    (I might have to secretly find that lubriderm super-duper skin healer. The eczema has been bad lately 😦 )

  16. Cookie says:

    Thank GOODNESS!
    And when you think about it, his treatment makes perfect sense.
    xo

  17. tinebeest says:

    Blimey, that sort of effort is better worth it 🙂 Good to hear the itch factory is closed, one of the few good things about the economic down turn then…

  18. Love your posts! Keep it up!

  19. So glad you found relief (and that it wasn’t DH!).

Leave a Reply

