County fair!

I worked at the county library booth at the fair again this year. That makes, I think, eight years in a row.

I arrived shortly before 10 a.m. and parked in the lot on the far side of the fair park from where I needed to be, just so I could get a look at everything before it got too hot. The dairy judging was in progress.

There were the requisite Holsteins.

Fair holsteins 

There were the requisite brown Swiss. As a brown-haired person of Swiss heritage, I am partial to the brown Swiss.

Fair brown swiss 

What's that hanging in the dairy barn?

Fair pinata 1

Surely not a piñata?

Fair pinata 2 

Strange sights are present even in the parking lot.

Fair llama far 

Did you see that?

Fair llama close 

Somebody rode his/her llama to the fair!

And, finally, the latest in my Tigers of Polk County series, which began in 2007. This is #4. Tigers are scarce 'round these parts.

Fair tiger 

* * * * *

A final note: there is a small deck/stage attached to one of the buildings, and there have traditionally been small entertainments all during the fair — barbershop groups, civic bands, whatever. This year the entertainments were moved to a large open tent where there was more space and lots more shaded seating, but apparently some missed the performances on the small stage. When I went past, several dozen people were seated on the benches… watching a woman spin. Excitement reigns supreme at the Polk County fair!

This entry was posted in Animals, Rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to County fair!

  1. Kym says:

    I picked out the llama right away! Must be the knitter in me. . . Looks like a great time at the fair!

  2. Erika says:

    I’m glad to see that tiger is taking eye safety seriously.

  3. Bullwinkle says:

    Love the llama. Just hanging out in the parking lot…

  4. sophanne says:

    I walked the dog past the carnies beginning set-up at the Greene County Fair this morning. Nothing like a good fair report for the blogs- I’m partial to the brown swiss as well.

  5. Cookie says:

    People really will watch anything. I hope they learned something from her.

  6. CindyG says:

    I’m partial to Brown Swiss, too. Their eyes are so pretty.

  7. gayle says:

    I can’t believe it’s fair time already!
    Love the pinata. And the llama, of course.

  8. Pingback: Remember that random post last Sunday? Here is the rest of it. | kmkat & her kneedles

Leave a Reply

