Ten on Tuesday, the bacon edition.

Screen-capture-4

Ten reasons to love bacon? I can only think of one: it tastes so darned good! Well, here goes…

  1. Taste.
  2. Aroma.
  3. Nutrition. It covers two of the most important food groups, fat and salt. (The others are beer and sugar. Bacon goes well with beer, not to mention how well it combines with maple syrup on your breakfast plate. There. Nutritional bases all covered.)
  4. Versatility. What else goes with carbs (pancakes, waffles, bread, beer), protein (eggs, peanut butter), and vegetables (lettuce and tomatoes) so well?
  5. Taste.
  6. Aroma.
  7. Survival. We are in danger of being overrun with pigs. Eating them is vital to our survival as a species.
  8. Health. Remember "Pork: the other white meat"?
  9. Um, drawing a blank here…
  10. Oh, and did I mention taste and aroma?
This entry was posted in Food and Drink, Silliness, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the bacon edition.

  1. Chris says:

    How about all the weird bacon themed/flavored things you can now buy?

  2. k says:

    OMG I have never tried bacon with peanut butter! I must go fry some now!
    Seriously, I can go most of the year without eating meat, but somewhere during yuletide we have Bacon Fest, whereupon I bake a pound of bacon and we subsist on it for a day. Actually, I subsist on it. Daughter has more sense.

  3. k says:

    I’ve got a reason, or two.
    That flavorful grease that makes your fingers oh so lickable.
    Anything that makes a dog a friend is inherently good.

  4. Carole says:

    Love all your bacon photos!

  5. What is it with bacon? It seems to be popping up all over. I have gone years without thinking about bacon, and now I seem to see it all over the net.

  6. Ryan says:

    I don’t think you mentioned taste or aroma. They seem sort of important. They should be on the list at least somewhere.

  7. gayle says:

    Bacon is one of the Seven Reasons for Living! You know – bacon, beer, sex, …umm… No, don’t tell me; I’ll get it… ummm…
    Bacon is one of the Three Reasons for Living!

  8. Kym says:

    Bacon IS most versatile. . . isn’t it? It pretty much goes with anything. Mmmmmmm. (I’m pretty sure I can’t help but have BLTs for dinner tonight. . .)

  9. marylou says:

    Free bacon wednesdays at http://www.triplerocksocialclub.com Gretchen, the owner, is also a knitter and knitting teacher extraordinaire. They even have popcorn cooked in bacon fat.

  10. CindyG says:

    Also on spinach salad and German Potato Salad.

  11. tammy says:

    Mmmmmmm, bacon. I really don’t want stirfry for dinner now.

  12. Favorite sandwich from childhood: whole wheat bread (toasted), tomato and peanut butter. I don’t care who knows it. Sooooo yummy!!!

  13. Carrie K says:

    Yum, bacon. It’s the reason I’d never be a full vegetarian.
    Happy Birthday! I hope you’re not having a bacon birthday cake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

