Here we are again.

Andrew requested that we go camping somewhere while  he is home for his four-week break, so here we are again on the North Shore. Yeah, it's a tough life.

Before we left I decided to be A Good Mom and bake some cookies to bring along. For the record, I hardly ever bake cookies; brownies, lemon bars, the occasional birthday cake, yes, but cookies are too putzy. This time I decided to go all out — oatmeal chocolate chip (oatmeal = healthy, right?), and while I was at it, a double batch.

A double batch made a lot of dough.

Dough 1

Really a lot of dough.

Dough 2

Dough 2

In an unusual turn of events, this vacation did NOT start the day after Smokey had finished up a string of night shifts. This meant we could get up on Monday morning, pack the mini-mini-motorhome, and actually leave during daylight. What a concept!

On the road, Smokey driving, me riding shotgun and knitting, and Andrew riding in the back of the van and doing what he does best.

Andrew

The weather forecast for this week on the North Shore was, in a word, chilly — highest high was predicted to be 57°. Happily, that was way conservative. Tuesday was warm enough to sit reading and knitting in the sun in jeans and sweater. One of us was even foolhardy enough to venture into Lake Superior, although he did admit he came out pretty darned quickly. Wednesday had a 30% chance of showers but was also the day I needed to teleconference to the county finance committee meeting. So we spent the afternoon in Grand Marais.

The chipmunks are still populating the campground. The are still bold aand still highly annoyed at all the people in their campground.

Chipmunk

I attempted to get a photo of the chipmunk that kept trying to climb my pants leg to get  at whatever I happened to be eating at a given moment.

But it didn't work.

Chipmunk not

This entry was posted in Animals, Family, North Shore, Travel, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Here we are again.

  1. Chris says:

    My, what a bold chipmunk!!!

  2. Mel says:

    I usually make chittery sounds at them to warn them away. Works most of the time with most sciurids, at least.

  3. marianne says:

    I truly did laugh out loud seeing your cookie dough, and yes, most definitely a whole lot of dough!

  4. Diane says:

    jealous of your North Shore trip….hope the weather continued to cooperate.

  5. Cookie says:

    Banana oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are practically a diet food, ya know. ;^)

  6. soxanne says:

    Oatmeal cookies make for a delicious and nutritious breakfast!

  7. CindyG says:

    Well, what chipmunk in it’s right mind wouldn’t go all out for an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie?

  8. Kym says:

    My favorite cookie-combo! The oats give standard chocolate chip cookies such a nice texture! Yum. Sounds like a perfect fall camping trip.

  9. Lorette says:

    That cookie dough bowl is just making me laugh!

  10. gayle says:

    I’m with you on the cookie-baking thing. I get way too bored with the project before it’s anywhere near finished. I was very glad when it occurred to me that cookie dough is freezable…

  11. cursingmama says:

    Boy do I need a trip up north. I can’t live vicariously through yours forever……
    We make all cookies in bar form except at the holidays – then I make ThePrincess a cookie making slave.

Leave a Reply

