Milwaukee.

Last week I attended a conference in Milwaukee for a couple days. Mostly my camera lived in my purse, but on the last morning I found some worthy subjects.

Lest we forget the frontier heritage and wisdom of the Midwest:

Milw 1

When I turned 180˚ I was confronted by a quasi-tropical scene:

Milw 4

The hotel was connected to the convention center by a skyway, which contained an escalator.

Milw 2

See that little black sign? Here's a close-up to reassure us all that we were, in fact, in Milwaukee.

Milw 3

Yes, the button did start the polka music. And not just a single polka over and over, either, but a random polka from an assortment!

This entry was posted in Silliness, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Milwaukee.

  1. Kym says:

    I love it! Can you hear the polka music all the way down the escalator?

  2. Chris says:

    That’s an awesome button!

  3. Jeanne says:

    I think this world needs more polka buttons.

  4. soxanne says:

    Fabulous quotation – I couldn’t agree with LIW more.
    Also love the incongruity of her appreciation of open space and cold air with the artificial tropical indoors, not to mention listening to music while riding an escalator…(do they serve beer with the polka music? If so I’m in).

  5. Erika says:

    I want a polka button SO BAD!!!

  6. Cookie says:

    How fabulous!

  7. Carrie K says:

    That button seems quintessentially Milwaukee-ish.

  8. gayle says:

    Wow. Polka on demand.
    The rest of the world is so far behind Milwaukee…

  9. Vicki says:

    Haha! That’s awesome.

  10. Faith says:

    The Milwaukee airport is the only place where I have seen the appropriate sign just past the security screening: it announces that you are now in the Recombobulation Area.

  11. Helen says:

    too funny!
    gotta love the cheeseheads! (and I only get to say that b/c I was born in Wisconsin)

  12. The entire world should have buttons that you can push to play polka. I honestly think this would end 99% of the conflict and strife we currently experience. I’m going to write a grant or something…

  13. Mary Lou says:

    I’ve been in that convention center – some fun stuff. I like Milwaukee.

  14. Diane says:

    So since you know there’s a random assortment of polkas, does that mean you pushed that button more than once? Great quote too, it applies to a lot of things.

  15. Lorette says:

    I want the polka button in my house. I grew up watching the Lawrence Welk show every single week!

Leave a Reply

