Nest.

Matthew is here today to get new brakes on his car and to help Smokey do some other car stuff. A few minutes ago he came running into the house to show me what he had just snapped with his camera phone.

Nest 1
Behold: the biggest wasp nest we have seen in recent memory.

Hmm, guess we don't use that door much. Maybe when I was designing the house I could have left it out…

Nest 2

Nest 3
Watch out, little ladybu– oh, wait, that's one of those annoying Asian ladybugs.

Nest 4
Kill!

For now, while the wasps are active, we will just let them be. In a few weeks it will be cold enough that they will be sluggish. Then we will knock down the nest and burn it. ::wicked laugh::


This entry was posted in Antler Lake, Autumn, Family, Rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Nest.

  1. Gah!! I hate those flying, stinging things!!! I probably would have run screaming into the woods had I seen that…

  2. Erika says:

    WOW. Can you see anything cool from the inside, or is it just more mud dauber stuff?

  3. Erika says:

    (And can Smokey replace my brake pads, too, while he’s at it?)

  4. Gillian says:

    Wasp nests are scary, but they’re beautiful too. IMHO it would be cool to empty it and keep it. {It’s not that I love wasps.}

  5. tinebeest says:

    Wow!
    I don’t like wasps that close to the house. I know they serve a function in nature, but I’m allergic to all bee sting things and wasps are just too aggressive for my taste.

  6. claire says:

    I’ve seen ones that people made art out of…after hard freezes when the occupants are dead and gone, varnish them. Quite gorgeous.

  7. Angie says:

    Oh my gosh! Beautiful in a photo but I’m sure glad you don’t use that door! šŸ˜€ Hurrah for cooler temps on the way.

  8. cursingmama says:

    Holy canole’s that is one big wasps nest….. I have real life examples I’ll keep to myself.

  9. Chris says:

    And you’ve made a mental note to use that door a bit more next year? šŸ™‚

  10. gayle says:

    Every spring when we open the BBQ grill for the first time, there’s been a wasp nest inside. It’s very satisfying to just close the lid and light the grill…

  11. Bullwinkle says:

    Wait – you designed the house??? Really?
    Wasps – not so cool. I’m with Gayle and the bbq grill šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

