All Hallow’s Read.

A new tradition, invented exactly a week ago by Neil Gaiman (pictured at right), is Screen-capture All Hallows Read. Stephen King and Joe Hill (SK's son, also an author of scary stuff) and The Huffington Post are already totally on board with it. 

NG says:

I propose that, on Hallowe'en or during the week of Hallowe'en, we give each other scary books. Give children scary books they'll like and can handle. Give adults scary books they'll enjoy.

A book-giving holiday! A new book-giving tradition! Awesome! Of course, as authors, Gaiman and King and Hill have a vested interest in promoting the sale of books, but NG specifically says "…new books or old or second-hand…" so I forgive them completely. Besides, my take on Gaiman, having heard him speak and read his blog faithfully and heard/seen him interviewed many times, is that he is a genuine and humble and thoughtful person who is more interested in getting people to read than in selling his own books. So there.

Somewhere on his blog I read a comment from a person — a mother, I think — who said that one year she bought a sh!tload of R.L. Stine books at Goodwill or some such and handed them out to trick-or-treaters. More awesomesauce!

We don't get trick-or-treaters here in the rural woods so I cannot partake of that last idea, but I am thinking deeply about what scary book I can give to whom.

How about you?

 

This entry was posted in Books, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to All Hallow’s Read.

  1. Kym says:

    I love Neil Gaiman. Love.

  2. christie says:

    I’m reading a book called Stiff by, um, Mary something. It’s about cadavers, and she has another called Spook: Science tackles the afterlife. Also The House with a Clock in Its Walls.

  3. soxanne says:

    That’s a great idea!
    Maybe next year…

  4. Bullwinkle says:

    Books? Kewl! That would go over well in my area 🙂 Excellent idea – a bit more work – but worth it.

  5. Kelly says:

    That’s an awesome idea! I had heard about it, but definately next yr. I ❤ Neil!

Leave a Reply

