Election day. Finally.

I decided to do my own Ten on Tuesday list this week.

Ten Reasons to Vote Today.

  1. Nifty sticker to wear on your lapel. 10 on Tuesday"I voted!"
  2. Cute election judges… if you are a 70+ year old male.
  3. Free coffee and cookies.
  4. Opportunity to see your local community center / fire hall / village hall / elementary school full of people with good intentions.
  5. A chance to knit (while standing in line).
  6. The only time you will see some of these names in print. County coroner? County assessor? Who are these people?
  7. Polling place just might be near your LYS. Everyone who votes deserves a yarn treat.
  8. Easiest way in the world to be a patriot.
  9. Chance to do something that millions would [and have] die[d] for the right to do.

    And finally, the very best reason of all

  10. If you don't vote you lose the right to complain about your government.

* * * * *

I'm sick of campaign ads, junk mail, the media buzz, and especially the recorded phone calls. Campaign signs, though, are kinda fun. I first noticed them when we were in Wyoming in June. There were campaign signs everywhere. Didn't notice [m]any in Montana, though. Later in the summer I saw them on the North Shore, plus they started to crop up here at home.

Sign 01 Sign 2 Sign 3 Sign 04
Sign 05 Sign 06 Sign 07 Sign 08 Sign 09 Sign 10 Sign 11 Sign 12 Sign 14Sign 13 Sign 15 Sign 16

Signs Sign 17

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

               As they say in Chicago, Vote early! Vote often!                   !

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, North Shore, Politics, national, Polk County politics, Ten on Tuesday, Wyoming. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Election day. Finally.

  1. Cookie says:

    You get coffee and cookies?! I’m lucky if I get a sticker.

  2. Bullwinkle says:

    I’m with Cookie: I want coookies!!
    Ours is not a contested election and we don’t have lines (so no time to knit.)

  3. Erika says:

    I’m so sad I vote by mail! No sticker, cookies, or kindly old ladies.

  4. Kym says:

    This is the list topic I was expecting today! My favorite elected office is . . . Drain Commissioner!

  5. marianne says:

    No cookies, no coffee, but there were stickers.

  6. gayle says:

    We didn’t get stickers! I complained about it. Maybe next year they’ll have them again.
    The campaign signs up here are about a dozen to the sq foot at this point. I’m going to be glad when they go away…

  7. tut-tut says:

    I voted; but the bastards still got elected.

Leave a Reply

