FO Friday.

Time to catch you up on my knitting. First, a couple hats:

Hat big  Hat alex big

(left, my last hat for the homeless)
Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, Thyme, and some anonymous camel-colored wool worsted. Total 56 grams, 123 yards.
Needles: Addi Turbo US#6.
Pattern: Generic, worked on 96 st.

(right, for Matthew's new-ish girlfriend Alex)
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Silk, color Allspice, all but about a yard of 3 skeins (~288 yards).
Needles: Knit Picks Options w/ Zephyr tips, US#8.
Pattern: 16-Cable Hat. The pattern gives two sizes, one for head circumference 16 – 19", and one for 18 – 22". Alex's head is 23", so I cast on 182 st to allow for one more 26-st cable repeat. My head is also 23", so I was able to try on the hat as I knit to check the sizing.

Alex had been describing the kind of hat she wanted to Matthew about a month ago on a day when Smokey happened to be present. He immediately piped up to say that he knew someone who would be delighted to knit her a hat. What he later told me she had described sounded to me like a chullo, so I found a few examples in Ravelry and sent her links. She looked at them but, in her own words, got sidetracked to the 16 Cable Hat. So 16 cables is what I knit (although my upsizing resulted in rather more than 16 cables).

Note: this is a very flattering hat. I may make one for myself. Never thought I would want a beret-ish or slouch-ish hat, but I like this one a lot.

This hat has a lot more stitches than a typical hat. But I loved the yarn so much that it was no hardship to knit the equivalent of two hats. Andean Silk is 55% fine alpaca / 23% merino / 22% silk, and knitting it is like petting a very soft kitteh.

Next on my knitting agenda is a pair of Dimorphous Mittens for myself. Right now I am swatching to determine what size needle I need to make my yarn for the inner mitten match the pattern gauge.

 Inner mitten:                                Outer mitten, striped:
Screen-capture-2  Yuzen 1  Yuzen 2

The yarn for the inner mitten is Frog Tree Pediboo, a very soft but tightly plied 80% merino / 20% bamboo light fingering weight that will feel lovely on my hands. The yarn for the outer mitt is two colorways of Noro Yuzen, a discontinued 56% wool / 34% silk / 10% mohair DK weight that I will stripe like a Noro striped scarf.

The weather forecast for the immediate future is cold with a side of frigid, so I need to knit like the wind on these.

This entry was posted in Community knitting, Family, FO, hats, knitting, Mittens. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to FO Friday.

  1. gayle says:

    I’d been wondering about the Andean Silk – thanks for the report!
    Love the hats – and can’t wait to see the mittens. (It’s getting cold up here, too. I should probably be picking out mitten patterns, myself…)

  2. Kym says:

    Love that 16 Cable hat! I never thought I was the slouchy hat type, but, by golly, I’ve discovered that they’re more flattering than other types of hats. I think you should knit yourself one right away — after the mittens, that is! (I’ve been wanting a pair(s) of Dimorphous Mittens myself.)

  3. Bullwinkle says:

    Nice hat … 16 cables plus one … /wrong weight (of yarn) … /not enough (of one color) … /not soft enough for a hat … /too heavy… /sigh
    (The startitis is really thanks to Mangofeet. But choice of project (and resulting stash diving chaos) is all on you.)

  4. Sophanne says:

    So now in my head I’m pretending that the girls in Matthews world maybe have a secret plan for rotating around until they all get a hat. That’s what I would do.

  5. mary lou says:

    I was admiring that 16 cables hat the other day. I may have to break down and knit one for myself.

  6. Susan says:

    Love, love love the 16 cable hat! Adorable!

  7. Cookie says:

    Love that hat!
    Now that it’s cold here. Okay, cold to me. I’m thinking mittens or gloves or something. Although, a hat that actually fit my big head might be an idea, too.

Leave a Reply

