I only win when I forget I entered.

Friday night Smokey was attempting to move cars around so that when the Blizzard Of The Century™ arrived our driveway would be passable. In the process one of the vans got stuck snugged next to a tree and Da Yeep broke. Pretty much everything went wrong. However, he had also retrieved the mail from the mailbox, and when I went out to help with the stuck van I found there was a package for me. From Webs. Which I didn't remember ordering.

Turns out I won a contest. Which I didn't remember entering.

W00t!

IMG_2286

That's four miniskeins (total 500 yds.) of superwash merino sock yarn in the bag at left. Here they are spread out.

IMG_2289

The other yarn is three ±450-yard skeins of fingering-weight merino/silk/cashmere blends, plus there are three patterns from BBF. Not shown is a book: Knit So Fine: Designs with Skinny Yarn by Lisa R. Myers, Laura Grutzeck, and Carol Sulcoski (she of Black Bunny Fiber Fame).

I say again, W00T!

* * * * *

Inasmuch as I already own that book, I decided this would be a fine time for a contest with the new book as the prize. The contest has been in the back of my mind for awhile. Nothing like a contest to bring the lurkers to the comment box 😉

Remember my glass head? The one that I use to model hats?

That head needs a name.

The contest will have two winners: the person who comes up with the name I like the best and another person selected randomly. The first winner gets the book and the second the bag of miniskeins. (Or the other way around; the first winner gets his or her choice, second winner gets the other.) Contest closes on Thursday, December 16, at midnight CST. You can leave your entry in the comments, or, if you want to ensure that no one else steals your idea, you can email it to me at the addy near the top of the sidebar.

The head was happy to pose for her photoshoot with some yarn that is going to be a hat for me. I love the difference between using the flash and not.

IMG_2304 IMG_2303

IMG_2301 IMG_2300

IMG_2302

IMG_2298 IMG_2297

Name that head!

This entry was posted in Contests, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I only win when I forget I entered.

  1. J. H. Benson says:

    I believe the name is clear. It is one that sounds to me so dear. Crystal is the perfect handle, for when a miss- and when she’s not it can be Crys.

  2. claire says:

    How about Ananke? She was one of the lesser known Greek goddesses, kind of a personal favorite: goddess of inevitability, compulsion and necessity (gee, how apt for knitting?) and was the mother of the three fates. She is depicted holding a spindle.
    If you are on good terms with her, An for short.

  3. Karen says:

    I’m not sure why, but “Esmerelda” comes to mind. I may be thinking of the empty-headed cousin from Bewitched…or it may just be my brain being kinda random again.
    Whatever–love your unexpected loot haul! I’ve only ever won one contest, and like you, I didn’t recollect entering. I won (wait for it) a lamp that consisted of a single round bulb with a weird flickering wick. Perfect for inducing seizures.

  4. Chris says:

    Congrats on your win! I’m not entering, because I already have the book. 🙂

  5. gayle says:

    Congratulations on the loot! (Maybe someone entered on your behalf?)
    I’ll let my subconscious work on names for a bit, and get back to you…

  6. sparrowgrass says:

    If I name her, do I win her? I love the head.

  7. Mandi R says:

    Congrats on the win!
    I would name her Prudence. Because I love the name, and my children veto it everytime I suggest it for anything. We name everything in this house.
    This year’s Chrismtas tree is named Ida Lee after my great grandmother. lol

  8. Deb in PA says:

    It’s kind of punny, but what about Cleara instead of Clara?
    Sorry, it was a loooooong day at work.

  9. Sophanne says:

    I think you should name it Ida Lee after MandiR’s christmas tree and great grandmother. You could call her Idly for short. Oh how I crack me up!

  10. kellys says:

    Hi, delurking for a mo, here. Hi.
    what about Destiny? too tacky? just makes me think of all the hats and where are they going…

  11. Natalie says:

    She looks like a Gladys to me. Not sure why, it just popped into my head.

  12. Orli says:

    She’s totally a Lady Madeline. My own modeling head is styrofoam and doubles as a voodoo doll. (I only stick the pins in to keep the hats on, honest!)

  13. Cookie says:

    You get the best mail.
    I don’t know what the head should be named, but I feel like she needs earrings. Yeah, it’s been that kind of week over here.
    xo

  14. Diane says:

    Lucinda. Or Millicent.

  15. gayle says:

    I’m thinking Bubbles. On accounta she has a big air bubble in the brainpan…

  16. soxanne says:

    Oh I have one of those heads too – but I never thought to name it.
    I’ve made more hats for Boy-child than everyone else combined, so I would probably name him Boy-child. Or The Glass Warrior. Or Martini Glass. I’m sure you get it.
    Congrats on winning the contest you forgot you entered!

  17. Pingback: The tale of a hat. | kmkat & her kneedles

Leave a Reply

