FO Friday.

I finished the felted bag with the infamous I-cord bind-off.

DSCN0090

The somewhat less-than- optimal photograph is the result of attempting to capture two of the most difficult colors and textures — reds and fuzzy black. The latter was determined to reflect whatever ambient light there was, resulting in a black bag that looked surprisingly silverly. The bag has a few puckers and wrinkles, but those should go away once it is fully loaded.

Overall, the bag turned out well. Tragically, I have absolutely no use for it at present. The coat I made it to go with is long gone. My tote bag supply runneth over, to the extent that I donated nearly a dozen of various types to the Salvation Army last month. As a purse, it lacks any of the internal organizational features that I prefer, like pockets or dividers, plus, being black, it is difficult to find anything inside. I could line it with a light-colored print and perhaps sew some pockets onto that, but, really, what are the chances? If I can't knit it, I'm not interested

So, for now, this will sit as an object to be admired rather than as an object to be used. Perhaps it will be a gift. Most likely we will sell it at the library fund-raising booth, probably for less than the cost of the yarn. 

::sigh::

For some reason — primarily a lack of clear thinking — I thought I had to knit four ropes of I-cord for the handles, even though the pattern clearly specified two. So I knit 240 miles yards inches of I-cord instead of 120. And now I have these:

DSCN0099

They will undoubtedly become cat toys. 
Very well-made, luxury cat toys.
I should invest in some catnip with which to stuff them,
just to ensure that they are properly enjoyed.

This entry was posted in Felting, FO, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to FO Friday.

  1. sparrowgrass says:

    That bag is gorgeous, girl. Buy a new coat to go with it!!

  2. gayle says:

    Oh, yeah. Coat shopping is called for…
    Lovely bag. Just lovely.

  3. soxanne says:

    The bag is fabulous (nice iCord too).
    I agree – time for a new coat. They’re all on sale, so you can save a lot of money 😉

  4. Erika says:

    Nice job! Sometimes, just finishing a project is enough.

  5. Carrie K says:

    I believe you might have made a cat bed that will accessorize splendidly with the cat toys.

  6. Vicki says:

    It’s a great looking bag! I can imagine the look on your face when you realized you knit twice the I-cord you needed.
    ; )

  7. elizabeth says:

    Oh, you totally should stuff those with catnip! And watch while they’re savagely attacked and drooled on!

  8. Cookie says:

    Fabulous bag!
    Catnip in a sachet in a zipbag with the I-cord in order to pick up the scent without stuffing the nip up the I-cord. You can thank me later. ;^

  9. Chris says:

    Do you have enough spare i-cord to make braided i-cord handles? I love those – much less stretchy than regular i-cord handles.

  10. Bullwinkle says:

    Someone told me to put my catnip in a sock in the felted whatever – makes less of a mess that way.
    Ned disagrees.

  11. Mary Lou says:

    Maybe you can get someone to line it for you, let them choose a hat from your stock.

  12. lisa says:

    You could use it for a project bag? You’ll have to post pics of the new cat toys… love the feet pic with your window (that look like wee baby somethings), and that the pagans are helping to keep your hiways clean…

Leave a Reply

