Ten on Tuesday, the beauty edition.

Once again, I find it difficult to come up with ten things in this category, mainly because I don't use beauty products — no makeup unless it is a very special occasion, no facial skin care products, no special shampoos or conditioners. Huh. Lazy. 10 on Tuesday

My Ten Favorite Health and Beauty Products.

  1. Vitamin C. Good for the skin and seemingly good for my own personal immune system. While I know there is absolutely no widely validated scientific evidence for this, if I take at least 100 mg of vitamin C every hour at the absolute first sign of a cold, the dread illness is averted. This has worked for me for over ten years and I do not plan to mess with success.
  2. Daily multivitamin, calcium supplement, and fish oil supplement; all on the advice of my physician.
  3. Ibuprofen. Actually, this one should be #1. I take 800 mg twice a day, and it keeps life pleasant. Without it, my joints scream in pain every time I move. Several years ago I was supposed to stop taking it for a week but had to resume after three days because the aches and pains were bad enough to keep me from sleeping. It is just joint inflammation, not rheumatoid arthritis, thank goodness; I had myself tested for the latter because I feared I had inherited it from my grandmother.
  4. Antidepressant. Actually, this is the one that should be #1. I'm a lifer on it, having started during severe post-partum depression after the birth of #2 son in 1989. Life since then has been sooo much better than the forty years before.
  5. Eucerin lotion. I may not do much of anything to my face, but the rest of my skin needs constant attention, especially in winter when the indoor relative humidity drops to 5-10% — desert levels. This lotion was recommended in a study by a Minneapolis TV station which found it was the only one that actually moisturized one's skin rather than just plastering down the skin cells with mineral oil.
  6. Other prescription meds: cholesterol, high blood pressure, GERD, and eczema all require their own daily treatments.

Okay, that's it. We use whatever soap, shampoo, and conditioners that are on sale. I pretty much bombed out on the beauty stuff and came in heavy on the health. Such is life after 60

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the beauty edition.

  1. Carole says:

    Health is good! I think this is one of those topics that people are either going to love or hate. Hmmm.

  2. Kym says:

    You’re my hero! šŸ™‚ And. . . better-living-through-chemistry. . . that’s my motto.

  3. gayle says:

    I take the same dosage of Ibuprofen, for the same reasons. I don’t always remember to keep multivites on hand, but I do take a vitamin D supplement regularly. (I can tell the difference when I stop…)
    And I’m in the same beauty boat.
    I’m going to hunt up that lotion – thanks for the recommendation. Winter air is hideously dry up here, too.

  4. Cookie says:

    What multivitamin do you take? I’m having trouble finding one that doesn’t make me feel ill.
    Btw, I really want to send you some Burt’s Bees lip balm after reading your list. Don’t they get chapped in the winter?

  5. Amanda says:

    Just goes to show health is more important than beauty šŸ™‚

  6. marianne says:

    I hear you on the ‘beauty’ products :^) I believe a good diet with loads of veggies and fruits, etc etc, goes a long ways to the good.
    that said… Yes. the Eucerin..(I use the ‘plus intensive repair’ one). Ditto on the fish oil and calcium/vitD and C.
    I did find a local product, face butter :^) and use it at night.

  7. Carrie K says:

    That reminds me, take my ibuprofen.
    Eucerin is fabulous. What antidepressant were you prescribed?

  8. k says:

    I think that’s life after 50, or at least it is on my boat.
    Sometimes I take an aspirin with a zinc tablet instead of the naproxin sodium/ acetominophen coctail. It’s an internet solution for mild RA, and it works for my ribs which have something going on.
    I picked up generic mature vitamins from the big T, and they seem to be aces.

  9. soxanne says:

    LOL!
    At the moment I’m doing a multivitamin plus vitamin D (since I live in Minnesota – really I should just go on vacation, dontcha think?) daily.
    For beauty I’m big on moisturizer this time of year – mostly on my legs because they seem to dry out more than anything (?!). I also use a moisturizing makeup of sorts that is mostly for evening the color out (splotchy patches and age spots after 50? Yes!)
    Some routine, eh? I used to use more makeup but then I decided to save the money so I could buy more yarn šŸ˜‰

  10. Carleen says:

    I used to take ibuprofen for my aches too. Then I decided to just TRY glucosamine. I would just TRY it mind you. But, I find it works much better for me. And when I mentioned it at a doctor’s appointment I was treated as if I was wise and great! I may keep taking it just for the pats on the back – never mind how well it cures my aches and pains. If you decide to try it – I buy it at Wal-mart in the vitamin/mineral section.

  11. Great list! I found that once I started taking a multivitamin and most of your #2 I was getting sick less often….Which is great, because at my job we seem to breed illness.

  12. Helen says:

    My GP suggested Vitamin C to me a few years ago for my skin and I wish somebody had told me 30 years sooner. I used to go to the chemist (drugstore) and come out with two eyeshadows, a lipstick and a shampoo that was going to change my life, but now, yes, it’s fish oil, glucosamine and oh god, *nc*nt*nence pads.
    And life was a lot better for all of us after my mother started taking an anti-depressant šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

