Ten on Tuesday, the nighttime edition.

Ten Things On My Nightstand/Bedside Table. 10 on Tuesday

  1. Books! My nightstand/bedside table is a six-foot-tall bookshelf so this not surprising. I keep one spot open for the stack of TBR books from the library. This spot is ALWAYS full.
  2. Alarm clock. Sad but true.
  3. Remote control for my bedside floor lamp, whose own switch is on its base and difficult to access.
  4. Coaster for my nightly glass (or two) of wine.
  5. Various creams — a couple prescription cortisone ones, a small jar of Mentholatum, a small jar of Vicks, a bottle of Kiss My Face! lavender-scented hand lotion. The latter is not a particularly good moisturizing lotion, but I loved the fragrance when I found it. Probably will not buy it again. Update: it appears not to be available any more. Guess I was not the only one who found it ineffective.
  6. Mug containing bookmarks, a pen, a pencil, and an emery board. You would not believe how often I need that emery board.
  7. Floss picks. Ditto.
  8. IPod Touch. This is where I charge it every night. I catch up on Twitter and play a few word games before sleep. This has cut tragically into my reading time.
  9. A couple pairs of fingerless gloves. Our bedroom is cold because we like it that way, but my hand get cold whilst reading or iPod Touching. It was cold enough earlier this winter that I needed TWO pairs of fingerless gloves.
  10. Control for my adjustable bed. This actually hangs from the arm of the bedside floor lamp. We inherited two adjustable beds from Smokey's parents; he used his for a while but never cared for the mattess. I, on the other hand, adore it for reading in bed. The memory foam mattress with which we replaced the original sucks rocks but I will never give up the adjustable bed.
This entry was posted in Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the nighttime edition.

  1. Kym says:

    Great list! Sounds like you’ve put together everything you could need right there at your bedside. Perfect.

  2. Carole says:

    I like the idea of fingerless mitts by the bed. My hands get cold while I’m reading, too.

  3. Vicki says:

    My night table is a bookshelf, too, though not quite as big as yours!
    ; )

  4. gayle says:

    What, no knitting?

  5. soxanne says:

    I’m with gayle – where’s the knitting?

  6. cursingmama says:

    I’m working on my list right now – – but I didn’t look too closely before I left this morning so this could be harder than it sounds.
    I like the mug of stuffs – I’ve got a drawer of stuffs including a sleep mask just in case someone thinks he should complain about the light from my lamp 🙂

  7. Bullwinkle says:

    I keep the knitting out of the bedroom! And the tv. And the computer(s)… I don’t like to be distracted from bedroom activities 🙂

  8. Cookie says:

    I use a similar scented lotion and have to add a lotion that actually moisturizes to it. Sort of weird, but I love the scent.

  9. Carrie K says:

    My night table is bookshelves too and my library book spot is equally always filled. Fun list!

  10. Chris says:

    You have a lot more on your nightstand than do I!

  11. k says:

    I’m in need of an emery board right now.
    My nightstand is a blanket chest from my grandmother’s house, so it’s the full width of the queensize bed and probably thirty inches deep. It has more than ten things on it.

Leave a Reply

