Ten on Tuesday, the scented edition.

Ten Favorite Smells.

(If you are not hungry, you will be by the time you finish my list.)

  1. Bread baking. Anything in the oven, really.
    10 Bread
     
  2. Steak or burgers on the grill.
    10 steak  10 burger

  3. Onions frying. My MIL used to quote a friend who said the to make a man happy, fry some onions right before he comes home. Works for me!
    10 onions
     
  4. Anything with garlic
    10 garlic
     
  5. The first smell of spring, usually damp earth (followed closely by the smell of defrosting dog poo; that part is not my favorite).
    10 early spring
     
  6. Lavender. It doesn't grow in Zone 3/4 where I live; the first time I smelled it in situ was in an English garden. Heaven!
    10 lavender
     
  7. Old roses. Only the traditional roses have a real rose scent; the modern ones have been bred for other characteristics.
    10 roses
     
  8. Paperwhite narcissus. Febreze has a scent called Springtime, and this is what it smells like.
    10 paperwhite
     
  9. Lilacs. We had a huge old bush outside the windows of our house in Minneapolis. I loved to open the windows on a spring afternoon and let the fragrance waft into the house.
    10 lilac
     
  10. Food and flowers. Yep, that pretty much covers it.
This entry was posted in Food and Drink, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the scented edition.

  1. Carole says:

    Works for me! I was worried that all of mine would be food but I managed to work in a few different scents.

  2. soxanne says:

    Food and flowers – I couldn’t agree more!

  3. Kym says:

    Oh, yeah! Now I’m hungry AND itching to garden! 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Hold on…I got stuck on “Zone 3/4.” You’re that far north? ‘Cause we’re in Ottawa, which is Zone 5 (a or b, I forget which). Somehow I had the impression that you were further south than we are…

  5. Guinifer says:

    It’s such a pretty list!

  6. Vicki says:

    Okay, WHEW! Not as much food as I thought, and all grouped together at the beginning. Nice list. These are fun…

  7. Carleen says:

    Freshly mowed grass, hay in the haymow, and simply fresh spring grass are also favorites of mine. I guess I’m on a grass bend – seeing that I see not much of it lately. BUT… today I got a present from Aveda: a hand lotion that smells like fresh grass – the kind you have in your yard. Oh my! Spring is coming!

  8. k says:

    Yes, olivia, you are probably in Zone 5 these days, at least up against a south-facing wall. I’d go for it, if I were you.
    And that picture of lilacs just flooded y senses.

  9. Cathy-Cate says:

    I’ve managed to keep one lavender plant alive, whereas my mother who lives 4 blocks away never has. I think it’s a combination of location AND good luck with the specific cultivar….
    it makes me happy in the spring! As do many other of your flowery list items!
    (The food parts make me happy all the time. I was just commenting about sauteing onions to my husband two days ago…all he has to do is fry a few onions to have me saying, “That smells good!”)

  10. gayle says:

    I’m loving this 10 on Tuesday!
    Though I don’t get the paperwhites – I had some one year and they smelled like burning plastic to me.
    And I’m zone 3/4 and grow lavender. Granted it’s on the south side of the house, and some years it does better than others, but still worth trying.

  11. Bullwinkle says:

    Have you tried a wall’O’water for the lavender? But probably only on a south facing wall.
    Nice list 🙂

  12. Cindy G says:

    I am so entirely with you on all of the flower scents you mentioned. Well, pretty much everything on the list, but especially those particular flowers.

  13. sparrowgrass says:

    Peonies. Bacon. Tomato plants. Sun-dried laundry. Penzeys Spice stores. Basil. Woodsmoke on a frosty night. A baby’s head. A good barbecue restaurant (if you cain’t smell it from the parkin’ lot, it ain’t no good.) Fresh ground coffee (I don’t drink coffee, but it smells good to me.)

Leave a Reply

