Weighing in.

Remember this?

IMG_2318

It came to me that I had swatched this yarn a few month ago. That swatch had enough yarn in it to knit another row and a half! That would certainly help, but would it be enough?

Then I hit on the idea of weighing my remaining ball of yarn before and after one of those 500+ stitch rows.

Before: 11 grams

After: 9 grams

Assuming that the bind-off row takes a bit more than each of the other rows — which is what I have noticed in the past; when I run out of yarn during a bind-off, ripping back exactly one row doesn't give me quite enough yarn (YMMV) — and assuming that I used exactly 2 grams (scale doesn't go to tenths of a gram) I would be able to knit 8 of the remaining 11 eleven rows called for by the pattern, plus the bind-off row.

That might be satisfactory, but I thought I should at least explore the possibility of using ALL the Misti Alpaca Hand-Painted yarn and doing the bind-off in a solid color.

At left, all the solids I considered; at right, the finalists.

IMG_2320 IMG_2322

I am leaning toward either of the ones on the left side of the finalist photo, with a slight preference for the one at upper left.

Opinions?

This entry was posted in Citron, Scarves, Shawls, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Weighing in.

  1. Cathy-Cate says:

    I think a solid bind-off will look better anyway! It was meant to be…
    All the ‘finalist’ yarns look nice, at least from this distance; but (with totally forgetting which one you said), when I enlarged the photo, I liked the yarn in the upper left the best. So: great minds, as always!

  2. Linda says:

    I love all the colors! But I’m partial to reds, burgundies, rust and brick colors. I think it would give that extra punch of color for a bindoff, imho. What is the item you’re knitting? I think I missed that post.

  3. Guinifer says:

    My mother always says that if you tell me the sky is blue, I will argue that it is red. I like the deep brown/red!

  4. gayle says:

    I’d flip a coin for either of the two on the left. Or, since the bind off would have been multicolor anyway with the original yarn, why not use all the colors? More ends to weave in, but less noticeable…

  5. Vicki says:

    Hi, I like yarn top-right in the finalists’ photo.
    ; )

  6. cursingmama says:

    I’m a brown fan….

  7. christie says:

    For subtlety, I’d use the lower left finalist. For a pop, I’d choose the upper right. The Interwebs are not really helping you today, eh? 🙂

  8. Erika says:

    I like that cocoa-colored one, in the upper left-hand corner of the right-hand pic.
    And I love my digital yarn scale, I couldn’t live without it!

  9. elizabeth says:

    I agree with you, the brown does it for me.

  10. Stacey says:

    I would go for a green, like the one in the upper right of the 1st photo. I prefer green after the gray and muddy brown of winter here in Connecticut.

  11. Jocelyn says:

    I like the brown you mention, but I’d go with the lower lefthand one–the rust. It seems to contrast more and, therefore, “pop.”

  12. Cookie says:

    Oooooooo… Trekking…

  13. tammy says:

    I’m leaning towards the wound cake of red/brown yarn in the left photo on the left hand side. Very pretty!

  14. Joan in Reno says:

    I think the upper left light brown if you don’t want it to jump out at you. The lower left one would give you a bit of pop, but not too much.

Leave a Reply

