More catching up. Some with pictures.

Another week down. Only about 50 hours this week — not because the work load is slowing down, but because I am. Didn't get to work until 11 on Saturday, but worked until 9:30. There is a certain drafter whom I would like to sit down and explain a few things to — his befuddled workpapers were the reason I couldn't leave at, say, 4pm, but neither of us has the time nor the will. Someone else will have to teach him. If he is even teachable; I have my doubts.

Eight more working days to go… 

* * * * *

Okay, some of this may be TMI but bear with me — it is something I found very interesting and illuminating. (That last was a bit of a pun that may become clear later. Or not.)

It had been my habit at home for months and months to take my iPod with me whenever I use the bathroom. Whilst doing my business I play a hearty game or three of Word Warp. Some people read magazines or the newspaper. I play Word Warp. YMMV. When I went back to work I continued this practice, although I try to limit the amount of time I spend away from the desk. 

A month or so ago I noticed what seemed to be a vague pinkish color in the, er, receptacle before I flushed. I worried a little but let it go. Then I noticed that the pink stain was still there AFTER I flushed. Okay, I thought briefly, weird. Back to work.

Then I noticed this.

Floor w spot

That's the floor of the handicapped stall (which I use because the others are bit claustrophobic. There are currently no handicapped women on our floor so I figure I am not inconveniencing anyone.) See that pinkish blob? That is my attempt to re-create what I saw.

Guesses?

.

.

.

.

Yeah, it's the afterimage of the iPod screen, which is intensely blue on the Word Warp game. Mystery solved.

And that is your science lesson for today, children. Please put away your science books and take out paper and pencil for a spelling quiz.

* * * * *

On Saturday I did something incredibly stoopid. I took my nighttime meds, which make me sleepy, in the morning before I went to work. I realized the mistake immediately, but I am not one who could stick her finger down her throat to bring them back up. 

I worried about this all the way to work. The day before I had had a fit of sleepy in the afternoon that required a second cup of coffee around 2 pm. Drug-induced sleepy at this stage of busy season would be deadly, so to speak.

To compensate I made myself three (3) shots of espresso once I got to the office (snazzy coffee machine there) and had a regular Coke with my lunch. It worked; I was sleepy for only a few minutes around 2 pm, when the meds were starting to take effect but the caffeine hadn't kicked in yet.

And, yes, I did sleep that night.

* * * * *

This is one our partner/principal/director/senior manager private offices (upper part of a cubicle in the foreground).

IMG_0008

This is the office next to it.

IMG_0007  

Happy April Fool's Day!

When the occupant of that office came in the next day he was on his way to a client meeting and didn't have time to enjoy it. He had to fight his way in to find his dress shoes and fight his way out again.

Later that day we all heard a sound like popcorn as he delighted in popping all those balloons.

This entry was posted in Accounting, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to More catching up. Some with pictures.

  1. Chris says:

    The balloons are very fun… but I’m glad that’s not my office. 🙂

  2. Bullwinkle says:

    Oh squeee! I’ve done that with the balloons but not as much glass in the office. Lovely!
    I love your office – ya’ll know how to have fun under stressful circumstances. Just sayin’

  3. gayle says:

    I think I would have opened the door and pitched the balloons out for everyone to pop…
    Hang in there – it’ll all be over soon!

  4. Cookie says:

    Oh my goodness…

  5. sparrowgrass says:

    I have done the switcheroo between day and night meds too. None of mine make me really sleepy–but I take my bp pill in the morning. It is a diuretic, so taking that at night guarantees a lousy night’s sleep.

  6. Jocelyn says:

    I’ve seen hecka lot stranger things on bathroom floors, I tell you.
    Any excuse for multiple shots of espresso is something I can get behind…

  7. Rebecca says:

    I’ll be so glad when tax time is over. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

