Can you stand another tax season post?

This is the last one, I promise.

One Saturday morning in early April, certain highly anticipated documents arrived from a particular client, an event which one of the managers had expressed doubt about ever happening.

Matt jig 007

No one was gonna let him get out of it. By the time he actually danced, at least 20 people were gathered around.

DSCN0026

The person who sneaks in front of the camera was going to get the Flip; several had been passed out at the beginning of busy season with the expectation that there would be amusing footage to view at the after-busy-season party. But the battery had died 😦 Luckily, I had my camera with me and captured the moment. This video DID make it onto the big screen at the party.

The post-busy-season party this year was held at Target Field, where the Twins play. Not on the field, of course; we were in the Town Ball Tavern. Hors d'oeuvres, hot dogs, mini-burgers, and open bar.

Plus, the highlight every year… the Busy Season Awards!

I won an award one year for "Largest Object Lost During Busy Season". I had come to work bright and early one Saturday morning and parked in my usual ramp, but on a lower level than usual, one lower than the skyway level. When I left work at 2 a.m. Sunday morning, I couldn't find my car.

So I took a cab home and reported it stolen.

On Monday a ramp employee contacted me to say that my car was still in their ramp and was I going to move it soon? 

Duh.

Anyway, this season's awards. We'll skip most of them and move right into everyone's favorite: The Best Busy Season Quotes.

First, the masters of ceremonies.

DSCN0047
Why, yes, they ARE young — middle schoolers, I think.

BS party 1

BS party 4

(The software we use to prep tax returns is referred to as "Global", and when it glitches in a way no one in the office can fix, we have to "call Global".)

This last one is hilarious to accountants. I hope you find it at least mildly amusing.

BS party 3

This entry was posted in Accounting. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Can you stand another tax season post?

  1. Cookie says:

    Do their parents know where their little ones are? o.O

  2. For what it’s worth, you are the second person I’ve known in my life who did the “can’t find car so report it stolen” thing. In both cases, long work hours and odd parking situations were the root cause.
    I think that tax season is enough of an excuse, frankly. Taxes make my head hurt and I only do mine! I am in awe of those of you who do more than your share.

  3. Chris says:

    They look shocking young, indeed.

  4. lisa says:

    Looks like the hip hop jig!

  5. Sophanne says:

    I’m glad you’re back

  6. picadrienne says:

    I LOL’ed the last one, my mom (the retired CPA) LOL’ed the rant.

  7. Erika says:

    I have been thinking of you often! I’ve been hired to work Monday afternoons for a neighbor who needs some help getting her taxes all put together. A LOT of help.

  8. Heather says:

    I think the funniest part of this is the giggling: the tired, almost hysterical giggling. I don’t envy you tax time, but I do envy you the after-party.

  9. Kym says:

    😀
    They don’t look so young to me. . . because I have one. The shock-value is not so strong.
    Happy End of Tax Season! It’s so very sweet to be finished.

  10. gayle says:

    I was wondering if you’d survived the loony/busy tax season…
    In all the craziness, do you manage to get your own taxes done, or do you have to hire them out?

  11. bullwinkle says:

    They *do* young! (I’m not getting old. At all.)
    I love that your office manages to have fun during a stressful time.

  12. Mary Lou says:

    Nice to know that accountants do have a sense of humor. If it hadn’t been 2 am, I bet you would have found your car. Too funny!

  13. soxanne says:

    2 am? No wonder you couldn’t find your car!
    Love the awards.

Leave a Reply

