Ten on Tuesday, the saving on the groceries edition.

Groceries1 I am sorry, but saving at the grocery store has never been high on my list of ways to economize, mainly because ANYTHING from the grocery store is cheaper than going out to eat, amen.

But I will try.

Ten Ways To Save Money At The Grocery Store.

  1. Take everything out of your wallet except the exact amount of cash that you haveGrocery-store budgeted for groceries that week. Make no other trips to the grocery store except the one described. (I got this one from a Weight Watcher group leader years ago. It is probably the very best tip I have ever heard for grocery shopping on a budget.)
  2. Use coupons, but ONLY for those items you would have purchased anyway. Back when I used to clip coupons every week, I found that a large majority of them were for crappe —  highly processed (and high profit margin) foods, unnecessary cleaning products, unhealthy snacks.
  3. Buy generics and house brands for items when you can live with their sometimes-lesser quality.
  4. Shop from a list and do not deviate from it. Grocery-list
  5. Buy ingredients, not finished foods. Cook from scratch.
  6. Shop mainly around the edge of the store — produce, dairy, meat.
  7. Avoid the chips-snacks-candy-soda aisle entirely. 
  8. Join Costco and shop there. (There are other warehouse stores, but Costco treats their employees in a socially responsible manner, as opposed to the practices of Sam's Club/Walmart.

Grocery2 I am out of tips. I suspect that if one were to make shopping and cooking and eating healthy the goal, rather than simply saving money, one would end up spending less overall.

(When searching for some images to illustrate this post, I found this. She says it better than I.)

(Also when searching for images, I had to bypass several because the grocery bag/cart/basket contained bottled water. What a waste of money — and generator of plastic waste — THAT is.)

[/rant]

This entry was posted in Food and Drink, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the saving on the groceries edition.

  1. NerdGirl says:

    I agree 100% about the bottle water being a waste! As for money saving tip #1, that is a good idea that would actually help me stick to the list when I’m shopping. I have a bad habit of making a list but treating it more like a “at minimum I need all of this stuff” list instead of a “this is everything that I need” list.

  2. Carole says:

    It’s absolutely true about being cheaper than going out to eat and I’m glad you pointed that out. I feel better already!

  3. sparrowgrass says:

    9: Don’t shop on an empty stomach. Everything looks good when you are hungry, and your resistance is low.
    10: Taking a sample does not obligate you to buy the product. The nice person handing out little cups or bites on toothpicks doesn’t really care.

  4. Kym says:

    Most excellent list. So, so true about the water!

  5. cursingmama says:

    Bottled water drives me INSANE! I really wish companies that switched from a canned or glass bottled beverage (like juices) to plastic bottles would switch back as well.

  6. Cookie says:

    Wonderful useful list!

  7. Beverly says:

    Bottled water is shameful.

  8. lisa says:

    Don’t buy wine. Or alcohol. Or beer. Or Easter candy two days before Easter…

  9. gayle says:

    Cooking from scratch is always a sound idea – you’ll get better quality at a lower price every time.
    And I wouldn’t buy bottled water even if I wasn’t getting Genuine Vermont Spring Water out of my faucet…

  10. soxanne says:

    Couldn’t agree more about the bottled water – we keep a pitcher of tap water in the ‘fridge.
    The less processed the food, the better for you and it’s probably the least expensive too, although I confess to purchasing frozen meals for work for when we’re out of leftovers…

  11. bullwinkle says:

    Excellent list – and a nice find with the link.

  12. I always like the tip where you should plan your meals around the grocery store sales. If chicken’s on sale, make chicken meals, etc.
    Works wonders! On Thursday, we sit with the Wed store flyers and plan our next week’s food accordingly.

Leave a Reply

