Look, Ma, I’m knitting lace!

Hold on to your hats, kids. The Kat™ is knitting lace.

DSCN0085

The yarn is Dream in Color Baby in the Spring Tickle colorway; DiC Baby is a woolen-spun (see how smart I am getting?) 2-ply laceweight of superwash Australian merino. The pattern is Haruni.

What happened, you ask? What about my phobia against lace? 

I offered to knit something like a shrug for #2 Son's girlfriend and sent her a link to a search for shrugs on Ravelry. She came back with this. I gulped and immediately emailed back, Okay, now let's figure out the yarn. And we were on.

Happily, this pattern is fairly easy lace (I think; I am nothing if not inexperienced in lace). Yarnovers, k2tog, ssk, and an occasional double decrease — all things I can do, no problem. It's the counting and paying attention that has always screwed me up in the past. But so far, so good. I never had to rip the whole thing out and start again, and I never had to tink back more than half a row. That last is because the shawl is exactly the same on both halves; the chart is for one half, and the knitter just repeats the chart on the second half of each right-side row, after the center stitch. 

I find it intimidating every time I start a right-side row and immensely rewarding when I get to the end of the chart row and discover I have the right number of stitches. It will get a bit more difficult in a few rows, where I use just part of the chart and repeat it across the row. Might need to purchase some of that magic knitter's tape to help keep my place. So far, a couple large Post-its have been sufficient.

This opens up a whole new realm of knitting…(and I got to add a couple new categories on Typepad)

This entry was posted in Alex, Haruni, knitting, Lace. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Look, Ma, I’m knitting lace!

  1. Julie says:

    Good for you! I hear lifelines in a contrasting color are a good idea in case you have to rip out.
    Can’t wait to see the shrug.
    Julie

  2. Kym says:

    Go Kat! It’s always the counting and the paying attention that get to me when I’m knitting lace. My mind works in . . . mysterious ways. . . and it becomes very apparent when I’m knitting lace! Anyway, that’s a beautiful pattern — and lace is so beautiful (and so amazing) when it’s finished. Can’t wait to see it. . .

  3. marianne says:

    Good for you! I love that design, it’s so very lovely. I’ll usually use stitchmarkers for the beginning of every repeat, especially if it’s a pattern of lace I’ve not knit before.

  4. Kari W. says:

    From experience I have learned that lifelines, stitch markers, counting and highlighting tape are all good with lace. If your lace decides to be snarky just give it a time out until it wants to play nice. Sometimes taking a break is all it takes to get back on tract (at least for me). And if you should have to do any major ripping, just remember to put a smile on your face (fools the brain into thinking you’re happy) and repeat over and over “I am practicing patience”. Enjoy the journey. The beauty at the end makes it all worth it.

  5. Vicki says:

    Go you! I have only dabbled…

  6. gayle says:

    Look at you go!
    Lace knitting can actually go rather quickly since you’re mostly just stringing together holes…

  7. elizabeth says:

    I totally know you can do this! You’re right – MOST lace is made up of stitches you already know how to do, and you’ll get into the rhythm of it. I’m not mathematically accomplished, but it appeals to that part of my brain.

  8. sophanne says:

    Welcome welcome welcome. After several many attempts at several many projects way to hard for me and then easier and then slower, I am finally now able to almost sort of look at the knitting, look at the chart and not so quickly find the mistake. That being said- and I’m glad to have the chart to check mistakes with- I prefer reading from written instructions than getting lost in the puzzle of the charts.

  9. Cookie says:

    I am so proud of you! Of course, you can do this!
    I use one of those long notepads they sell for list making. Keeping that on top of the chart lets me see where I’ve been and the row I’m working on. It’s also a good way to make sure I’m taking notes on where I am as I work on a project.
    Spinning is next. You know that, right?
    xo

  10. Leah says:

    Oh. My.
    That looks gorgeous! Slow and careful have been my watchwords with the little bits of lace I have done: Only on socks, so litterally little.
    May your lace knitting live long and prosper.

  11. Chris says:

    Woot! You go! Do you have one of those nice KnitPicks chartholder thingies?

  12. Carrie#K says:

    Lace AND cables! Woot! I vote for the lifeline too, it’s hell on earth to frog lace. At least for me.

  13. Helen says:

    Yay you!
    I’m thrilled to have you join the lace knitters of the world.
    I invite you to join Seasons of Lace (http://seasonsoflace.com) where you can mildly edit your regular blog posts and qualify for prizes!
    And yes oh yes… the highlighter tape is the BEST thing ever! (we even had it as a prize one year; I’ll see if I can get it back).

  14. Cathy-Cate says:

    It gets easier as you get further along and can read your knitting. Woot!! You can do this!!

  15. janna says:

    Yay! I love knitting lace, but am a true believer in highlighter tape, lifelines, and stitch markers. It seems like some people feel those things (especially stitch markers) are cheating, but to me they’re just tools of the trade.

Leave a Reply

