FO, socks.

I finished two pairs of socks.

Socks black striped

Yarn: ONline Supersocke 100 Nepal, the enchantingly named color 63, most of one 100-gram skein; toes and heels reinforced with red Lang reinforcing thread. I saw this yarn on eBay and had to have it.
Pattern: Wendy's Generic Toe-Up Sock, worked on 60 stitches. I consciously tried not to knit too tightly but overdid it a bit — these socks are a bit roomy.
Needles: Addi Turbo US#0 for the foot and ankle, US#1.5 for the leg. 

I started these socks the night before I started back to work in February and didn't finish them until after tax season was well over. Hard to do anything except eat, sleep, and work during tax season.

DSCN0059

Yarn: Premier Yarns Serenity Sockweight (50/25/25 merino/bamboo/nylon), aquamarine, most of 2 50-gram skeins. This yarn is supersoft because of the merino/bamboo.
Pattern: same as above, worked on 64 stitches instead of my usual 60 because this yarn is thinner than most sockweight. That may have been unnecessary/overkill because the socks are slightly roomy.
Needles: Addi Turbo US#0 for the foot and ankle, US#1.5 for the leg.

I started these on the subway from JFK to our hotel last month; finished the first and cast on the second on the plane home; finished the second a week or two later.

My sock wardrobe swells… 

This entry was posted in FO, knitting, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to FO, socks.

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Gorgeous! Say, when it gets hot outside, is it ever hard for you to want to touch yarn? Now that it’s getting hot here, I find it hard to view photos of socks without cringeing (cringing? I refuse to look it up). I wish you could knit me a thing called coolness. I would wear it EVERYWHERE.

  2. Kym says:

    Lovely socks. I hope you don’t need to wear them “for reals” until fall, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Erika says:

    Nice socks! I admire the length on the calf, too – all too often I end up crapping out and knitting crew length socks.

  4. Carrie#K says:

    Funny how things knit up so much faster after tax season. Lovely socks! Not very appropriate for 102 degree weather though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Linda says:

    Beautiful socks! Love the multi-colored yarn; the variegated blue is very nice, too. Wishing you cooler temps. Yikes! It was 103 in Minneapolis yesterday; tho my son said they had 107 in the suburbs. We had 98 up north. Too hot, hot, hot!!

  6. kim says:

    I need to get my sock mojo back. Time and a new puppy have taken their toll on ones I have.

  7. soxanne says:

    Aren’t socks just the most satisfying project?
    Yours look great!

  8. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo!
    Slightly roomy is better than slightly tight, yes?
    xo

  9. Lorette says:

    Lovely socks! I love the red reinforcing thread in the heels/toes! That is a great idea that I am going to steal!

Leave a Reply

