Yarn!

I have been accumulating a little pile of yarn. Time to photograph it, blog it, and upload it to Ravelry.

DSCN0220  Yarn kill bill

  Yarn misti   DSCN0230
  DSCN0218

Clockwise, from upper left:

  • 100g (420m) of Marks & Kittens Kattens Fame Trend sock yarn, 74/25 superwash wool/nylon,420m in another imaginatively named color '662' (good brand name — the yarn really IS soft as a katten kitten);
  • 4 oz (116g)(425 yds) of Sweet Georgia Tough Love sock yarn, 80/20 superwash wool/nylon, color 'Kill Bill';
  • 100g (420 yds) of Dream in Color Everlasting 8-ply sockweight, 100% superwash Australian merino, color 'Tidal';
  • Three skeins of Yarn for Sox, a worsted weight sock yarn; each is 4 oz (116g)(215 yds), 80/20 wool/nylon, colors, from left, 'Oatmeal', 'Ecru', and 'Greystone';
  • 100g (800 yds) of Misti Alpaca handpaint laceweight, 100% baby alpaca, in the enchantingly named color '29'.

The orange/copper/gray sock yarn was acquired at the knitting event I attended in September. Don't remember the vendor. It is lovely soft; comments in Ravelry make me think it may not wear well enough for socks. Perhaps another Citron, this one for me

The Kill Bill sock yarn is destined for a scarfy shawlette for Alex. More on this below.

The Dream in Color sockweight I acquired months ago, from Webs, I think. It has been draped lovingly around my mannequin's neck ever since. Don't know what it will become, but probably NOT socks. No nylon in it, plus the tonal colors are too pretty to hide under pant legs.

The worsted weight sock yarn will be… socks. Very warm socks, socks that will have to be hand washed. I found the yarn at The Tall Tale in Tofte, Minnesota, little town on the North Shore. The proprietess, a very nice and friendly dog lover, told me that one skein was not enough for a pair of socks but that I could get two pairs from three skeins. Hence, the multiple purchase. Don't know what they will look like yet, but they should be fast and fun to knit. The yarn is rustic, i.e., a bit scratchy — perfect for rustic socks.

The laceweight alpaca is nearly the same color as the laceweight Schaefer I bought at Knitty City in May, but is thinner. Guess I am attracted to pale, pale browns and grays.

Oops, forgot some other recently acquired yarn.

DSCN0170

That is 6,000 yards of lace weight cashmere from Colourmart. Actually, it is not lace weight; it is more like cobweb weight, much thinner than I expected which is why I got the second cone. Some of it may become a scarf, some may become a sweater. Someday.

Now, the Kill Bill.

Last year Matthew bought himself a hand-made bike painted in a Kill Bill color scheme

M kill bill

Here is a better picture of it, taken by the person he bought it from.

Screen-capture-1

(Why a bicycle painted in a Kill Bill color scheme? Who knows…)

When I saw this yarn on the Simply Socks website* I knew it had to come to my house. So it did. 

When it arrived I emailed Alex and Matthew and asked if anyone was interested in a pair of socks or a scarf to match the bike. 

Alex bite
A few more emails, a few Rav searches, and it was decided: the yellow yarn will become this.

Screen-capture-1

* Does Simply Socks's website remind anyone else of a 1960s Betty Crocker cake mix? It's the two-tone red horizontal stripes and the vaguely spoon-shaped thing at the top of the page that does it. 

This entry was posted in Biking, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Yarn!

  1. Soxanne says:

    Lovely pattern and it will be great with that yarn!

  2. Sheepish Annie says:

    Yummy yarn and a Kill Bill color scheme? Two of my favorite things in the world!!!

  3. gayle says:

    That looks like a fun knit! Can’t wait to see how it works up in that yarn…
    I’ve got a skein of Marks and Katten Fame Trend, also. It was my souvenir yarn when I visited my daughter in Florida. So far, it’s in the too-pretty-to-use category.

  4. Lorette says:

    Lots of good loot! I love that worsted weight sock yarn. What are you doing with a million miles of cobweb yarn?

Leave a Reply

