Books and reading. And libraries.

I read at least 58 books in 2011; "at least 58" because I know there are a few missing from this list.

 

TITLE AUTHOR
Case Histories Atkinson, Kate
At Home: A Short History of Private Life (audiobook) Bryson, Bill
A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail (audiobook) Bryson, Bill
Dead End Gene Pool: A Memoir Burden, Wendy
Fool Moon: Book 2 of the Dresden Files (audiobook) Butcher, Jim
Grave Peril: Book 3 of the Dresden Files (audiobook) Butcher, Jim
Heartsick Cain, Chelsea
Sweetheart Cain, Chelsea
Soulless (The Parasol Protectorate 1) (audiobook) Carriger, Gail
Changeless (The Parasol Protectorate 2) (audiobook) Carriger, Gail
The Alchemist (audiobook) Coelho, Paulo
The Poet Connelly, Michael
Cathedral DeMille, Nelson
Vanished Finder, Joseph
Dress Your Dog: Nifty Knits for Classy Canines Fredens, Sys
Hit by a Farm: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barn Friend, Catherine
The Goblins of Labyrinth Froud, Brian
The Graveyard Book (audiobook) Gaiman, Neil
American Gods: The Tenth Anniversary Edition Gaiman, Neil
American Gods (audiobook) Gaiman, Neil
Same Kind Of Different As Me Hall, Ron
Star Island Hiaasen, Carl
The Knitting Circle Hood, Ann
Through No Fault of My Own: A Girl's Diary of Life on Summit Avenue in the Jazz Age Irvine, Coco
Full Dark, No Stars King, Stephen
Breathless Koontz, Dean
Iron Lake Krueger, William Kent
My Fair Lazy: One Reality Television Addict's Attempt to Discover If Not Being A Dumb Ass Is the New Black; Or, A Culture-Up Manifesto Lancaster, Jen
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (audiobook) Larsson, Stieg
The Stone Angel Laurence, Margaret
The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine Lewis, Michael
Liar's Poker: Rising Through the Wreckage on Wall Street Lewis, Michael
A Storm of Swords: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3 (audiobook) Martin, George R. R.
A Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1 (audiobook) Martin, George R.R.
A Clash of Kings: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2 (audiobook) Martin, George R.R.
Deception Mina, Denise
The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer Mukherjee, Siddhartha
21 Essential American Short Stories Pockell, Leslie M.
Knitting for Dogs: Irresistible Patterns for Your Favorite Pup — and You! Porter, Kristi
The Complaints Rankin, Ian
Theater Geek: The Real Life Drama of a Summer at Stagedoor Manor, the Famous Performing Arts Camp Rapkin, Mickey
Silent in the Grave Raybourn, Deanna
Vintage Baby Knits: More Than 40 Heirloom Patterns from the 1920s to the 1950s Rengren, Kristen
Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas (audiobook) Robbins, Tom
The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry Ronson, Jon
The Men Who Stare at Goats Ronson, Jon
Sarah's Key Rosnay, Tatiana de
The Blade Itself Sakey, Marcus
At the City's Edge Sakey, Marcus
Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading Sankovitch, Nina
One Was a Soldier: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery Spencer-Fleming, Julia
A Dark Matter Straub, Peter
Shoot to Thrill (A Monkeewrench Novel) Tracy, P. J.
Moon Over Manifest Vanderpool, Clare
The Tale of Halcyon Crane: A Novel Webb, Wendy
Passage Willis, Connie
Fire Watch Willis, Connie
Night of the Grizzlies  

.

Library
Found at: 
The Eclectic Bookshelf (thanks to Chris for the link)


The 2012 Support Your Local Library Challenge is being hosted by The Eclectic Bookshelf.

The guidelines are as follows:

  1. Anyone can join.
     
  2. You don't need a blog to participate. If you are a non-blogger please leave a comment with a link (if you review elsewhere) to your review or with the book(s) you read.
     
  3. Audio, ebooks (some libraries allow ebooks to be checked out), bound books are ok. I would have included graphic novels, but I don't cannot read those so it is a moot point.
     
  4. No re-reads.
     
  5. Create a sign up post and post the link in the linky.
     
  6. Challenge goes from January 1, 2012 – December 31, 2012.
     
  7. Levels:
    * Level 1 – Read 12 library books
    * Level 2 – Read 24 library books
    * Level 3 – Read 36 library books
    * Level 4 – Read 37+ library books

I already read at least 50 books/year, almost every single one from the library, so I am not going to sign up for this. But supporting your local library is A Very Good Thing, especially in these days of tight municipal budgets when some folks question the needs for libraries.

I encourage you to sign up for this challenge at whatever level is comfortable for you. Knowledge is a good thing; we all need more of it. Please go forth and investigate your library!

 

This entry was posted in Books, Libraries, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Books and reading. And libraries.

  1. Erika says:

    Wow, that’s really impressive! I thought I was doing pretty well, but I just counted my list at Goodreads and I only clock in at 34!

  2. tut-tut says:

    Hope you read all the K Atkinson Jackson Brodie series. She can do it all, and then some. Though I prefer my Jackson on the page, rather than on the screen. The Bill Bryson Home is awaiting me.

  3. Chris says:

    I’ve read nine of the books on your list. I know, you’re surprised! 😉
    You’re welcome re: the Local Library Challenge!

  4. Mary Lou says:

    I always think I’m going to keep track of what I read, but never do. I frequent my lovely St. Paul Central library at least weekly. And, I’m a friend of the St. Paul and the Ramsey County libraries. Support your local library!

  5. Carole says:

    Yay for local libraries!! Thanks for supporting us!

  6. gayle says:

    I’m a steady patron of my local library. And our state library system now offers loans of ebooks and audiobooks!
    I’d decided that this year I would actually keep track of what I’ve read, since I think I read a lot, but have no way of checking yet.
    I’ve read a huge number of the books on your list (most of them last year, as well), and I’ve taken a few notes for my next library trip.
    And I’ll give you Neal Stephenson, Lois McMaster Bujold (possibly my favorite author, but don’t bother with the Sharing Knife series, unless you like ‘romance-y’ and there’s absolutely nothing else to read in the house…), and Tad Williams. You’re welcome.

  7. k says:

    Do the books I check out and renew but never get a chance to read count? What about research from school?
    And yes to American Gods. Not settled enough to re-read it yet, but yes.

  8. Soxanne says:

    Cool. I have to go look into this now.

  9. bullwinkle says:

    I just discovered that my library system – that I use for requesting inter-library loans (and will, thus, get any book I ask them to get, for free (or my tax dollar)) – keeps track of what I borrow. Without me even asking them to. So I have a list 🙂 I’m excited about this. Now I have a prayer of coming close – Audible, library, Kindle. The only category that’s missing is the ones that friends hand me.
    I need your list to add my list … Does making lists of books to read count?

  10. cursingmama says:

    I’m absolutely horrible at tracking what I read, but I know I’m averaging 1 to 2 books a week about 1/2 are coming from the library and the rest I’m buying to support authors.

  11. Carrie#K says:

    I think all but maybe six books of the 70something I read were checked out of the library last year.
    How was The Game of Thrones as an audiobook? A thousand hours a book?

Leave a Reply

