Privacy.

Search

In case you have been living under a rock for the past couple weeks — or have been offline, which is, frankly, more likely than any of you actually dwelling beneath boulders —

Google change[d] its privacy policy

which led to any number of reactions, ranging from concerned to outraged:

Information Week.

zdnet.

PC Magazine.

Huffpo.

And best of all for our citizenry at large

36 state attorneys general.

Remember Google's original motto, "Don't be evil"?

Apparently that is true for only certain Google-defined values of evil.

* * * * *

In the interest of calming everyone the f*** down, here is a Lifehacker post showing one way to keep your Google browsing history to yourself. There are several good ideas in that article; many and more thanks to Chris for including it in her regular Friday linkety post.

This entry was posted in Rants, various, Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Privacy.

  1. Chris says:

    You are very welcome! πŸ™‚
    Interestingly, my search history wasn’t being tracked, on either of the main computers I used. I am not exactly sure why not – maybe one of the plugins I’ve had for ages?! But I was pleased anyway. πŸ™‚

  2. bullwinkle says:

    Chris’s linkety link sent me on a great bunny trail. I got lost πŸ˜‰ but I had a great time.
    Thanks for all the links and the reminder to do some clean up.

  3. Guinifer says:

    Thanks to you and Chris.

  4. Ev says:

    Google Accounts Dashboard is where you can find your search history located. I found it was tracking searches made on my BB more that anything on a laptop – I log out of my account when I’m on the laptop.
    Thanks so much for the link!

Leave a Reply

