Ten on Tuesday: the purse edition.

This week's topic is Ten Things In My Purse. Since I haven't carried a purse, exactly, for several years, I shall tell you Ten Eleven Twelve Thirteen Things I Carry In Whatever Container I Have Hanging From My Shoulder (backpack, tote bag, whatever).

  1. Wallet. I looked long and hard to find a wallet-like thing that has a shoulder strap. Ten on tuesday That way I don't have to carry my huge tote bag into a store with me. Wallet contains money, credit cards, and receipts.
     
  2. Health and beauty department. This is a small zipper bag, about 4"x6"x1" that is stuffed with every personal care item I could possibly need (I dumped it out to take inventory): small mirror, lip balm, tweezers, dental floss, flosspicks, folding hairbrush/comb, migraine meds, toothpaste (but no toothbrush — what was I thinking? oh, yeah, the toothbrush is in the glove compartment of my car — don't ask), hand lotion, hand sanitizer, diamond emery board, wet naps, tiny mirror, Tums, breath mints, Alli, bleach/stain remover pen, and a Winchester pocket tool that has a scissors, knife, file, 3 screwdriver blades, a saw, and a bottle/can opener. I am prepared for anything.
     
  3. Bottle vitamin C tablets. I carry this with me in the winter just in case I feel the first tickle of a cold when I am away from home. It is vital to start the vitamin C treatment immediately; six hours later is Too Late.
     
  4. Bottle of ibuprofen. I take 800mg in the morning and at night, but recently started taking another 800mg at 2 pm. It makes a big difference in my pain level. I even set up an alarm on my work computer to remind myself to take them.
     
  5. Bottle of prescription antiacid tablets.
     
  6. A set of five nylon shopping bags in their  IMG_0343_medium2own tote bag.

  7. Tissues in a knitted tissue cozy.

  8. Mini flashlight.
     
  9. Key ring with keys for house and various cars, plus a spare set of keys.
     
  10. Lock de-icer.
     
  11. Tape measure.
     
  12. Eyeglass cleaner kit. Img_0901
     
  13. Emergency knitting kit. I never go anywhere without it, especially since it saved my bacon that time I was stuck in the elevator.

 

 

Did you notice what was absent from my list? Any kind of makeup or perfume or anything remotely frilly-feminine. If I could fit a hammer, a couple full-sized screwdrivers, and a pair of pliers in there without adding any weight, I'd do it.

This entry was posted in Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday: the purse edition.

  1. Kym says:

    You ARE prepared! Pretty much for anything. If I’m ever stuck in an elevator. . . or just need my lock de-iced. . . I’m hoping you are nearby!

  2. Chris says:

    Hmm. You need a Leatherman tool in there!! 😀
    I should update my post about this from 2012, as I’m using a different backpack – now I have a Timbuk2. But I still like the acronym I came up with: PURSE (Portable Ubiquitous Resource Storage Environment).
    http://www.stumblingoverchaos.com/archives/6258
    When I was in New Orleans last fall, one of my friends decided that if she was stranded on a desert island, she wanted to be stranded with me and my backpack…

  3. cursingmama says:

    hmmm… I’ve got a purse, but it more closely resembles luggage. Feels like it too. I’ve got a lot of electronics in mine… nook, ipod touch, cell phone, ipod nano, a point & shoot camera.

  4. Carole says:

    You really ARE prepared for anything! I am impressed.

  5. Mary says:

    Second the Leatherman. I have a Micra and it is tiny, not much weight, but has: small and large slotted screwdrivers, small Phillips screw driver (The small slotted doubles as large Phillips head.), knife, scissors, tweezer and nail file. No makeup in purse either! Never worn it, never will. My purse is actually a small leather, semi-dignified backpack. I hate purses, but love that thing! Small, but it is like Snoopy’s doghouse — much bigger on the inside. (Remember when Snoopy had the fire?)

  6. Vicki says:

    Hm. I wear a little makeup, but never carry it with me. I’m sure if I wore lipstick, though, I’d carry some along. But I don’t. Instead, a bottle opener that I’ve never used and some rocks.
    ; )

  7. kathy b says:

    wow elevator stuck knitting…Im impressed

  8. Melissa says:

    You are prepared.
    The following is a question to ask your doctor about. I’m paranoid about this since it happened to me. If you take NSAIDs for pain for too long they can damage your kidneys. It’s something about dose and length of time. I’m sorry for being so personal I just hate for this to happen to anyone else.
    PS love the emergency knitting

  9. You just reminded me that I need to replace my hand sanitizer. Everything else in my Giant Purse Of Preparedness is set, though!

  10. gayle says:

    That sounds like my purse, back in ancient times when I carried a purse. Though I did usually have a couple of full-sized screwdrivers and a pair of needle-nose pliers in there…

  11. Bonnie says:

    Now I have to knit my kleenex a cozy.

  12. bullwinkle says:

    Mine included a strange amount of dog things: poo bags, treats, spare leash, mittens (so my hands don’t get cold and chapped when using the leash), wet wipes (more about dirt than sanitizing), … have you noticed that I don’t actually *have* a dog at the moment?

Leave a Reply

