Knitting! (2)

Second: Daybreak, last seen here. All done, love it, worn only once. Spring came rather early this year and thus ended wool-scarf-wearing season.

Scarf daybreak 1

Scarf daybreak 2

Pattern: Daybreak by Stephen West. Nearly every one of his patterns appeal to me. I love this one so much I am planning a sweater based on it.
Yarn: Most of a skein of Universal Pace sock yarn in linen (06) and half a skein of Marks & Katten sock yarn in color 662.
Needle: Signature circ US#4. 
Mods: The original pattern had the final border done in stockinette interspersed with single rows of garter stitch. It seemed to me that that border might be prone to flip up so I did it entirely in garter, and I quite like the way it turned out.

This entry was posted in Daybreak, FO, Scarves. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Knitting! (2)

  1. Linda says:

    Very pretty, Kat! I bet the sweater will be just as beautiful. Love the pattern.

  2. Erika says:

    It’s so pretty! I think you made the right decision with the border. “it won’t curl” is one of those great lies of knitting.

  3. Big Alice says:

    Very nice! I like the garter effect too.
    Ha, I see no problem in you posting year-old knits. I like seeing all the FOs.

  4. Kym says:

    I quite like the way it turned out, too! Love that color combination.

  5. Chris says:

    Very autumnal – great colors!

  6. Mary Lou says:

    I love the way the color comb/striping worked. Let’s hope you won’t have occasion to wear it this summer.

  7. Squish says:

    Your Daybreak is lovely.

  8. Cookie says:

    Well done!

  9. Soxanne says:

    Wonderful – love the colors.

  10. I like the way it turned out,too. As much as I appreciated the mild winter, I sure missed the chance to model knitwear!

  11. Lorette says:

    Perfect! I love his patterns too, though I haven’t made any yet. Have you seen the Loxley scarf/hood? I am coveting that one.

  12. bullwinkle says:

    Wonderful! I too love his pix.
    I did one of his patterns and hated it. So … I know the pattern was delivered electronically. Was it so freaking locked down that you couldn’t enlarge, turn, take notes without printing and photocopying it larger? (And I had some mad skills/resources to unlock it at the time. I wrote him a furious note a few years ago – and I hear (from his mentor no-less) that it has improved. I haven’t checked it out.)

Leave a Reply

