Knitting! (3)

Third: a Moebius cowl from a class on same at Yarnover, taught by the totally delightful Silvia Harding. Yummy yarn; too bad I now find the color rather insipid.

Hannibal is not sure about this. Not sure at all.

DSCN0120

Pattern: Moebius cowl. The exact pattern is not given at the link but is simply 4 rounds of knit and 4 rounds of purl repeated until the cowl is tall enough. The whole key to making a Moebius is in the cast on, which Cat Bordi demonstrates at the link.
Needles: I think I used a US#4 circ. Either that or a #5.
Yarn: Karabella Magrite, a sport weight 80/20 superfine merino/cashmere blend. It is sooo soft and perfect for next to the skin. I bought four skeins of it in Cara's destash five or six years ago. I think I may use a couple of my skeins to make another cowl, bigger and taller.

I gave the FO to Elder Son's landlady in Duluth, a family practice resident who provided him, and a number of other med students over the years, with a lovely place to live. Smokey delivered it when he traded cars with Son, and he said she was suitably surprised and pleased.

 

 

This entry was posted in Cowls, FO, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Knitting! (3)

  1. Silvernfire says:

    Maybe you could overdye it to some more exciting color.

  2. Kym says:

    Insipid. Love that word. 🙂 (Cowl is nice, too.)

  3. Jocelyn says:

    I pretty much love that Smokey gets to deliver stuff you’ve made all over Duluth. That tickles me.

  4. Big Alice says:

    Heh. I really enjoyed the Hannibal-in-my-face picture this morning. Glad you found a good home for it.

  5. gayle says:

    I’ve been intrigued with the moebius knitting since the first time I read about it. I need to give it a whirl someday – and that looks like the perfect project!

  6. bullwinkle says:

    /snicker: insipid

Leave a Reply

