Knitting! (4)

Fourth: silk Montego Bay scarf.

DSCN0147 Silk scarf

Yarn: Alchemy Silk Purse, 2 skeins. DK, 100% silk single ply.
Needle: KnitPicks US#8 circ.
Pattern: Montego Bay by Amy Singer.

I originally announced that this yarn — also souvenir yarn purchased at Knitty City last year — was going to be a trianglular shawlette, but further thought led me to the conclusion that I would get more use from a long rectangular scarf. Several years ago I made a Montego Bay scarf that nearly drove me crazy; I simply could not keep track of the (2-stitch, 2-row!) pattern. But I wanted to conquer that pattern. I needed to conquer that pattern. And I did; this quickly became mindless knitting, so mindless that I could work on it in the evening after working on tax returns for nine or ten hours.

Have worn it multiple times, love it.

This entry was posted in FO, knitting, Scarves. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Knitting! (4)

  1. Linda says:

    What a beautiful scarf! Love the color. And the pattern looks simple enough, though intricate. I love simple lace; I love mindless knitting because….most days…..that’s what…..I…am >.<
    ^ !
    Wishing you a very restful, great weekend, Kat.

  2. Lisa says:

    I love the Montego Bay! And now that I’ve got a better feed reader on the ipad, maybe I’ll read more blogs more often!

  3. Erika says:

    What a beautiful color, and so shimmery!

  4. k says:

    Do you “dress” for the office? I remember something about hippie socks…
    Is there a secret school of scarf … I can’t come up with an “S” word … slinging? I’ve seen that knot a few times lately.
    Verrry pretty, by the way.

  5. Kym says:

    I have knit this scarf pattern (and had trouble keeping track of the oh-so-simple 2-row pattern, too!) and just love it! It’s such a perfect accent piece for warm-weather wear. Yours is simply lovely. Makes me want to knit another. . .

  6. Soxanne says:

    mmmmmmm……silk!
    Love the pattern – it turned out great.

  7. bullwinkle says:

    /sigh (see comment just posted on your next entry calendar-wise)
    My scarf languishes in a closet – I never get dressed up and wear it anymore. (Not that I regret that – just sayin’)
    I made the fringe on mine (and I love it – and I’m not a fringe person.) That yarn is so yummy I couldn’t resist.

Leave a Reply

