Ten on Tuesday, the like-a-kid edition

Cute_kids_cute_play

Ten Ways To Feel Like A Kid Again.

  1. Run through the sprinkler. Or walk, if running is beyond you these days. Ten on Tuesday
  2. Next time you are at the Dairy Queen, have a cone instead of a sundae. Nothing like a DQ cone in the summertime.
  3. Play catch with someone. Outdoors. On the grass.
  4. Ride your bike to the municipal pool or beach. Splash water — gently! — at a friend. Omit the obnoxious kid that always did the sneak-up-and-grab-the-boobs-from-behind. Jeez, I hated that kid. I should have kicked him in the nuts back in 1960.
  5. Ride your bike everywhere.
  6. Lie in the grass and look at the clouds. Imagine what they are. Make up stories about them.
  7. Spend a whole day, preferably a weekday, reading a page-turner book. 
  8. Lunch = a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on white bread, accompanied by a big glass of cold milk.
  9. Catch fireflies in a jar. Put the jar on your nightstand when you go to bed. Optional: cry the next morning when they are dark and dead.
  10. Sing silly songs with your kids/husband/wife/significant other/neighbors/people on the bus.
This entry was posted in Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the like-a-kid edition

  1. Beverly says:

    I’m a cloud watcher, too!

  2. Carole says:

    Wonderful list. I’m going to lay in the grass and look at the clouds. Hopefully I won’t have any ticks on me when I get up!

  3. Nichole says:

    Here’s to PB&J! Happy ToT!

  4. Silvernfire says:

    A DQ dipped cone. 🙂
    Actually, dinner is often a peanut butter and jelly sandwich accompanied by milk. Although most of the time, it’s whole wheat bread. Close enough.

  5. Great list! I had PB&J on my toast for breakfast, actually—then picked raspberry seeds all morning. Good stuff, though.
    I feel an urge to hit the DQ, though.

  6. Donna says:

    I love to spend the day reading a good book. Especially if I’m outside in the shade.

  7. Carleen says:

    I’d have to switch the cone and sundae. Now that I’m an adult I eat cones. Cones = less calories than sundaes. To be like a kid I’d have to go back and eat the sundae: chocolate and marshmallow was my favorite.

  8. Carleen says:

    Oh, one more to add (for me): Throw ball onto roof of garage, catch it as it rolls back off. Repeat for at least an hour at a time. As an only child I spent hours doing this and really loved it!

  9. Chris says:

    Play with kids. You’ll feel like a kid – until they suck all the energy out of you and keep on going. 😀

  10. Carrie#K says:

    PB&J is kind of a staple, sad to say.
    Ooh, a DQ dipped cone. Hmm. I drive by one on my way home. Maybe for dinner? mmmmm

  11. Sophanne says:

    I’d also add lie in the grass and play with a dog. Great list!

  12. Soxanne says:

    Maybe if I weren’t so tired I’d go do something on the list right now (oh, don’t I sound OLD!?)
    😉

  13. bullwinkle says:

    Watch a puppy run through the sprinkler. Play catch with a puppy. Watch a puppy sleep. Pet a puppy. Help a puppy up the stairs. Watch the puppy sniff a flower…. oh wait, I could blog this. 😉

  14. Helen says:

    Now that it’s no longer over 100 degrees outside, I’ll try to do more of these things. 🙂
    Also, sing nursery rhyme songs.
    Play telephone (the whispering game)
    Learn something new. Or look at something in a new way. To kids, everything is new!

Leave a Reply

