At least I don’t live in Texas.


Wisconsin may have gone back to the 1950s, but Texas Republicans

want to take us back to the Dark Ages.

Darkages"Texas Republicans also believe 'controversial theories' such evolution and climate change — which aren’t controversial at all — 'should be taught as challengeable scientific theories subject to change as new data is produced.' There’s more: the GOP also opposes the teaching of 'critical thinking skills' because they 'focus on behavior modification and have the purpose of challenging the student’s fixed beliefs and undermining parental authority.' ”

The 5 Craziest Policies in Texas Republicans' 2012 Platform

My sympathies to anyone female, of color, of non-traditional sexual preference, intelligent, curious, or who engages in critical thinking in Texas. (Yes, I know that sentence makes a hash of parallel construction, but at least I spelled parallel right.)

Thanks to k for the links.

This entry was posted in Rants, various. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to At least I don’t live in Texas.

  1. k says:

    The world is burning, in so many ways.

  2. Lisa says:

    Maine can’t be far behind. Our gov is a total brainless thug.

  3. Chris says:

    I was thinking about that after I saw it a few days ago, and this is what I came up with:
    If critical thinking threatens your beliefs, maybe you need to think critically about your beliefs..

  4. bullwinkle says:

    MD (literally) can’t keep the lights on. For all our progressive policies, we can’t keep the power up. /just sayin’ As for the state of the US: scary. Very Scary.

  5. Susan says:

    I used to live in Texas. Then I moved to Georgia. Not much of a change, sadly. 😦

  6. Soxanne says:

    Sheesh. After interviewing outside of Minnesota, I decided to quit looking for work elsewhere. I like it here. It’s not perfect, but I like it.

  7. Carrie#K says:

    Critical thinking focuses on *behavior modification*? WTH? Next you’ll tell me that it supports education and logic. Wow. Just wow.

  8. Jocelyn says:

    As if you didn’t already have me cradled in the palm of your hand…you went and acknowledged faulty paralellism. Swoon.

  9. gayle says:

    The first thing that worried me, after hearing about this the other day, was the fact that the children coming out of such an ‘education’ system would be automatically rejected by any decent college. Their only options would be the so-called bible colleges, where they could continue the same faux education.

  10. Lorette says:

    Sheesh. So “critical thinking skills…have the purpose of challenging the student’s fixed beliefs and undermining parental authority.” I thought that was the whole POINT of going to college.

Leave a Reply

