Ten on Tuesday, the childhood TV edition.

Ten Favorite TV Shows From My Childhood. Ten on Tuesday

  1. Robin Hood. I am quite sure I am the only one old enough to have this on my list.

  2. Crusader Rabbit. Ditto.
  3. The Howdy Doody Show. Ditto. Buffalo Bob, Clarabelle The Clown, Princess Summerfallwinterspring, the Peanut Gallery. One day my school bus was delayed and the show was over by the time I got home. I cried. (I was only in first grade.)
  4. The Man From U.N.C.L.E. Two words: Illya Kuryakin. Yes, he is also Ducky on NCIS. 
  5. I Spy. This, plus The Tonight Show, were how Bill Cosby got his start.
  6. Rowan & Martin's Laugh-In. High school and college years.

  7. Sky King. Saturday mornings long before most of you were born.
  8. Annie Oakley. Ditto.
  9. Rocky & Bullwinkle.  Still on, I think. Great, great show.

  10. Twilight Zone. One of the greatest shows of all time, as measured by how many of us remember certain episodes: the invalid in the isolated house whose new nurse removes *her* wig to reveal *she* is really the murderer that has been in all the papers; the guy who breaks his glasses when he finally has the opportunity — after the bombs have fallen — to read every book in the library.
  11. Topper. Also way before your time.
  12. Alfred Hitchcock Presents. I almost forgot this one. Definitely one of the greats
This entry was posted in Television, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the childhood TV edition.

  1. Phyllis says:

    heh. You have listed most of the shows *I* watched, too. 8)
    On Ducky and NCIS–did you catch the show where they referenced Illya Kuryakin? Ducky was becoming rather enamored of a beautiful blonde ME, which the team notices. Abby asks what Ducky looked like as a young man and Gibbs replies, “Illya Kuryakin.”
    8)
    Phyllis

  2. Vicki says:

    LAUGH-IN — I barely understood any of it, but knew it was good.
    😉

  3. Kari W. says:

    Oh what great memories you have brought back. I remember every single one of the shows you mentioned.

  4. Silvernfire says:

    Yes, I’m too young to have watched Topper, but I read the novel. Does that count?

  5. Joan in Reno says:

    I’m older than you are. I watched Laugh-In after I was married and my kids watched a lot of those programs. But yes, they were good.

  6. k says:

    My god, you’re old. Or my brothers wouldn’t let me watch those shows. It’s a toss-up.
    I don’t remember #’s 1 and 8. Wasn’t Sky King one of the Bridges? No, I think I’m thinking about Flipper. Or something.
    You forgot Paladin. And the one with Steve McQueen(?) and the sawed-off shotgun. Manly men, all of them.

  7. Carole says:

    I loved Twilight Zone but I was in high school when I started watching it.

  8. Sue says:

    I just read all the other blogs – the are from my daughter’s childhood. You are the only one who comes close. How about Gunsmoke, Life of Reilly, and Ponderosa? Wagon Train, Paladin, and The Rifleman. (My father loved Westerns and he controlled the TV.)
    I also loved Sky King.

  9. Soxanne says:

    We have most of the original Twilight Zone and a collection of Rocky & Bullwinkle on DVD. I loved Laugh-In too, and tell my kids about it relatively frequently.
    ::sigh::
    Never watched a lot of TV, but now I don’t watch it at all.

  10. Mary Lou says:

    Crusader rabbit! I still have stupid puns from that in my brain, like “If Anyone Can, Yukon.”, and Illregard Beauregard. I wonder if they are around somewhere. Me, I loved all the horse shows, like Fury, and My Friend Flicka.

  11. gayle says:

    Oh, yes yes yes!! Those were my shows, too. (I had the biggest crush on Ilya…)
    Also Sea Hunt and Maverick. And Paladin.
    Ah for the days when nobody was getting voted off the island…

  12. k says:

    You really should have warned people about the suck that is the Robin Hood theme. I listened to it for a little bit, thinking it would “ring a bell.” I’m sure brain cells died.

  13. Kym says:

    How in the world did I forget Laugh-In???? I LOVED that show. (Rocky and Bullwinkle, too!)

  14. auntiemichal says:

    Topper was such fun; I wanted to be a ghost too. LOL And forget Mark Harmon, it’s all about Illya.

  15. Laurie says:

    Yes. I remember Sky King, but I was really too young to understand it. A lot of the Twilight Zone went over my head but I still watched it. LOVED Laugh-In. Ilya, yes.

Leave a Reply

