Mutterings. And stuff.

  1. Sophisticated :: Audrey Hepburn
  2. Pelicans :: fish.
  3. Flat :: stomach.
  4. Cheekbones :: high.
  5. Possible :: possibilities.
  6. England :: island.
  7. Jacket :: potato.
  8. Sunflower :: seeds.
  9. Hungry :: pelican.
  10. Accent :: French.

* * * * *

I am working on a two-part post about my dyeing experiments adventures. Soon

* * * * *

The horrific cold seems to have passed on to some other locale. Our temp is at or above freezing 🙂 So naturally, I finally finished my extra-long fingerless gloves, the ones to keep my forearms warm whilst reading in bed in our cold bedroom.

I tried to wear them last night but had to take them off after a couple minutes because they were… too warm.

I don't know, do you think it will get ever cold again?

DSCN0048


DSCN0050

DSCN0055

Yarn: Colorado Yarns Durango (10-ply worsted, 50/47/3 wool/acrylic/rayon),  colorway 5, a tweedy ecru; 1.3 skeins, 138 yds.
Needles: Addi Turbos US#7.
Pattern: Cobbled together, but I used the thumb gusset from Ann Budd's Handy Book of Knitting Patterns. I cast on a couple extra stitches to allow for more room in the forearm (could have used a couple more) and decreased them away before the wrist.

* * * * *

Laundry day, hand washables:

Laundry_day

Actually, these are all perfectly machine washable and dryable except for the blue socks, upper row, at right. I found out the hard way that they will felt (Pagewood Farms, Denali Hand-dyed sock yarn). But I am *practicing* using my Hand Wash cycle.

Here is my *dryer* for the hand washables:


DSCN0054

I took this while the fan was moving to spare you the sight of how filthy the thing is. Really need to clean it… someday.

This entry was posted in Dyeing, Fingerless mitts, Mutterings, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Mutterings. And stuff.

  1. Kym says:

    (You’re supposed to clean fans?) It did turn suddenly warm, didn’t it? With thunder and lightening and everything, even. Now THIS is a January Thaw. . .

  2. Deb Winslow says:

    What a great idea! Bed Mittens.
    The upstairs in my older home, doesn’t have heat and my hands get cold when I’m reading in bed.
    Thanks for the idea.

  3. Erika says:

    They have a Swiffer duster with a magic extendo-handle that should do the trick for your ceiling fan. Except that I have been scouring stores for it for about a month now and have yet to spot one.
    (I have bookshelves filled with books that I cannot reach ever since moving the couch. Oh, so dusty.)

  4. k says:

    I was gonna say, there’s a device for that. But somebody got there first.
    High of 5 degrees on Thursday, up here. Colder in the cities, by you. I think you might get to use those gloves. And soon.

  5. Sophanne says:

    Picture one: kmkat took a picture of her leftmitt with her right hand. No biggie if she’s right handed
    Picture two: kmkat took a picture of her right mitt with her left hand. It surprises me not that kmkat is so very ambidextrous. She is, in fact a knitting accountant. That should say it all.
    Picture three: WTH? I didn’t realize kmkat had two arms and a hidden third one just for picture taking. You’re amazing.

  6. Soxanne says:

    Lovely mitts – I’m sure it will get cold again, given that you’re in WI and it’s January. Call it a hunch.
    Also, those fans only have to be cleaned when you sell the house – at least that’s how it worked for me 😉

Leave a Reply

