This is why we can’t have nice things.

This is why we can't have nice things

First, a January thaw that apparently caused this poor, deluded daffodil to sprout.

Then, several blizzards to cover it with a protective layer of insulating snow.

Now, a morning temperature of 3°F and a wind chill of -17°F (I know that wind chill doesn't really apply in the case of a plant, but I want you to know just how cold I was when I took this photo).

And,  yeah, I see that the hose has leaked some water and that has encouraged the melting around the daffodil.

This is why we can't have nice things.

This entry was posted in Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to This is why we can’t have nice things.

  1. Sophanne says:

    Someday we’ll learn

  2. Soxanne says:

    😦
    Poor little daffodil!

  3. Kym says:

    Oh. I have one like that out by my mailbox. Too much sun on the warm days. Too much snowplow on the snowy days. Too much back and forth, just generally.

  4. Bonnie says:

    That’s so sad. Poor daffodil. I have shoots, but no blooms yet.

  5. cursingmama says:

    I’m counting the days to daffodil time… So close, but todays’ temps don’t make it feel like thats true!

  6. Sophanne says:

    You’re not the boss of me! (Said in kid voice)

  7. Ryan says:

    If it makes you feel any better, my daffodils are in a protected corner near my front door, they never got any snow on them, and our temperature swings weren’t particularly drastic this winter, and yet…they grew unusually tall and then collapsed all over the sidewalk in melodramatic heaps.

  8. Chris says:

    Poor frozen daffodil!

  9. Cindy G says:

    Aw, poor baby. Winter has been so weird in Wisconsin this year….

Leave a Reply

