FO Friday.

I finished a hat and scarf set for myself.


Set

Color is off in this photo, but I couldn't fix it without making my desk look even more overgrown with moss than it already is. (see next two photos)


Hat cableHat plain

Pattern: Sideways Grande Cloche from Boutique Knits.
Mods: None except that I used a different, slightly heavier, yarn so I cast on 36 st for the body of the hat instead of 42. 
Yarn: Knit Picks Swish Bulky (100% superwash merino) in Aegean; 1 skein exactly. 
Needles: Knit Picks Options, US#10, 9, 8, and 7, as called for in the pattern. I do not understand why the designer had me use four different needle sizes, but whatever
 


ScarfScarf is not blocked yet so the lacy pattern is rather…camouflaged.

Pattern: Lace Rib Scarf by Kay Gardiner. I found this one by using Ravelry's advanced pattern search — which is wizard, btw — to look for a scarf using bulky yarn. I avoided ribbed ones b/c they draw in  in width, and I didn't want to have to knit the scarf wider then necessary. Lazy efficient, me.
Yarn: (same as above, 2 skeins exactly)
Needles: Knit Picks US#9 because they were handy. Kay used US#10s for the same reason.


This is a more accurate portrayal of the color from the KP website:



Aegean

This will be a cozy set to wear next winter when the winds howl. Color is gonna be kinda boring next to my brown coat, but whatevs.

This entry was posted in FO, hats, Scarves. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to FO Friday.

  1. Jocelyn says:

    You’re supposed to give us photos where YOU are wearing these things! I want to see YOU in ’em, hon. Gorgeous color, for sure, and smart style.

  2. Sophanne says:

    Fabulous!

  3. gayle says:

    Hat has handle? Like giant squishy inverted coffee mug?
    Pretty color. Pretty knitting. I think the color will elevate the brown coat…

  4. JulieH says:

    I agree with Gayle! I look forward to seeing you wear it around town.

  5. Silvernfire says:

    They look cozy, and I love the cable down the side of the hat. May you enjoy them!

  6. Carrie#K says:

    That looks so snuggly and warm!

Leave a Reply

