A rural Wednesday in late August.

Today I was out and about. There are signs of fall.




DSCN0434


DSCN0443

The corn crop is water stressed.


DSCN0446

The hay has been gathered into giant round bales.


DSCN0453

Gardens are at their peak.


DSCN0459


DSCN0460

And the temperature was about 90˚ with the same humidity. Even though I was driving a car with killer air conditioning, I had to give up about 4:30 and come home. I couldn't take it any more.

Main street in my little town.

DSCN0462


DSCN0463
DSCN0464
DSCN0465

Those three buildings were, once upon a time long before we came here, thriving Main Street businesses. Now they are for rent and have been for months, even years. The third one, originally a movie theater by the looks of it, was a pizza/pool hall/non-alcoholic music venue for a couple years earlier in the aughts, but it folded. During that time it was painted purple, which I thought kinda livened up Main Street, but I may have been the only one who thought that.

It was a beautiful day nevertheless, and I got a lot done.


DSCN0458


DSCN0455

This entry was posted in Photography, Rural life. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to A rural Wednesday in late August.

  1. tammy says:

    I want to open a yarn/book/coffee shop in building #3. It’s so perfect.
    Beautiful shots!

  2. k says:

    Empty buildings make me wish I had ambition and a good plan. And we had enough rain for the first time in several years, so the corn is doing good.
    That heat was horrible. We went swimming – in the Big Lake, of course.

  3. Chris says:

    I can’t believe the MN State Fair started today.

  4. gayle says:

    I’ve already caught myself checking the view out the window in the morning, making sure the dew is really dew and not frost…

  5. Stacey says:

    Now I want to go to Wiseguys and have a Leinies! I miss Milltown.

Leave a Reply

