Ten on Tuesday, the auto edition.

Boy howdy, can I get into this one! Smokey is a car collector, so we have had, quite literally, DOZENS of cars. I will list the ones that were my primary car. Some I picked out myself, some were assigned to me from the fleet because my own car was temporarily* down for repairs.

Ten Thirteen Cars That I Have Had (latest first).

  1. 1998 Volvo 700XC station wagon, silver

    Volvo

  2. 1998 Isuzu Oasis, minivan, dark red

    Isuzu

  3. 2008 Chevy Aveo, white hatchback (same as below, but white)
  4. 2008 Chevy Aveo, yellow hatchback (the one that Elder Son totaled in 2013)

    Aveo

  5. 2006 Chevy Aveo, yellow hatchback
  6. 2004 Chevy Aveo, yellow hatchback We really liked those Aveos, can you tell?
  7. 1999 Chevy Metro, blue hatchback (became Elder Son's, then Younger Son's, car when each got his license; YS drove it until 2013)

    Metro

  8. 1986 Subaru GL, 4WD station wagon, red (The first new car I ever owned. I loved the four-wheel-drive — pulling neighbor's cars out of the snow, charging up the hill in front of our Mpls house, driving fearlessly all winter.) (The one pictured below is clearly not mine — see the license plate.)

    Subaru-GL-Wagon

  9. 1976 Subaru, 4WD station wagon, red (pictured is one that has the same *wood* trim as mine)

    1979 SUBARU

  10. 1979 Toyota Corolla, 4-door sedan, gold (later repainted red)

    Toyota

  11. 197x Austin America, 2-door sedan, light blue (Please use your imagination to repaint the one below. The car was tiny. It could — and often did — hide behind a VW Beetle in a parking lot. To get into the back seat, you had to unlock the front seat by sliding its headrest, then tip the seat forward. This was not nearly as easy as it sounds. The electric fuel pump would short out on a regular basis, like the time I was merging from one freeway onto another in a cloverleaf. Had to pull over, open the trunk, and bang on the floor — fuel pump was under it. But it was one of the very few front-wheel drive cars in America at the time; great fun in the snow.)

    Austin

  12. 197x Austin America, 2-door sedan, brown
  13. 1966 VW Beetle, mud brown (nicknamed Vincent Von Volksvagen; in the winter the undercarriage would get jammed up with frozen slush and I had to attach twine to the pedals to pull them back up, a fact of which Smokey likes to remind me when I complain about some minor defect in a current car.)

    Vw

  14. 1966 Pontiac Tempest, 2-door sedan, white (my first car; thanks, Mom & Dad! once again, use your imagination to repaint it)

    Tempest

Other fleet cars that I drove a lot:

  1. 1998 Subaru Outback, white station wagon
  2. 1989 Dodge mini-mini-motorhome

    M'home

  3. 2002 Chrysler Sebring, dark blue convertible
  4. 198x Jeep Wrangler, aka Da Yeep

    Da Yeep

  5. 1975 Mercedes 240 diesel, red. I put a Ferengi School of Business decal in the back window. It had a sunroof the size of Connecticut and a killer air conditioner. It also put out a nice cloud of oily exhaust when I accelerated from a stop sign, a great way to punish motorcyclists who had been tailgating.
  6. 199x Dodge conversion van, blue
  7. 199x Dodge conversion van, blue
  8. 199x Dodge conversion van , brown
  9. 1999 Chevy Metro, blue hatchback (BLUE)

    Metro

  10. 1994 Dodge Caravan Plymouth Voyager, blue minivan. It had a Starfleet Academy decal in the back window.

 

* Where "temporarily" could be up to several years.

 

This entry was posted in Motorcars, Ten on Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Ten on Tuesday, the auto edition.

  1. Carole says:

    You have had way more interesting cars than I have!

  2. Bonny says:

    I am impressed by the number of vehicles you’ve had, and really like the idea of being assigned one from the fleet, since that would save me from car shopping. I’m even more impressed by your inventiveness with banging on the trunk floor and using twine!

  3. =Tamar says:

    I still have my 1993 Plymouth Voyager.

  4. Chris says:

    What an eclectic mixture! I’m in a 2008 BMW station wagon right now. More bells and whistles than I’ve figured out yet.

  5. soxanne says:

    You drove a woody-wagon?!?!?!? Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I had a Fiat 128 back in the day when front wheel drive was unheard of in American automobiles. It handled beautifully in the snow but was awfully hard to get fixed (alas I have never had anyone like Smokey around).

  6. kmkat says:

    And Fiats tended to need continual fixing. We had a friend who, on Smokey's recommendation, bought a 128. Cute little car that ALWAYS needed something. She nicknamed it Moose, short for Mussellini. 

  7. Vicki says:

    “…assigned to me from the fleet…”
    LOVE THAT!!

Leave a Reply

