We will not be having turkey for Christmas dinner. Or goose. Or duck.

Hellfire
The FIERY FLAMES OF HELL, for the imaginatively impaired.

Or anything else that requires me to use the oven in the stove.

You may remember the fiasco several years ago when the thermostat in the stove stuck in the FIERY FLAMES OF HELL position and turned our chicken and rice into a cinder.

Cinders
The aforementioned cinder.

Since then we have managed to use the oven occasionally. It takes rather a long time to heat up, and never really gets much over 350˚, but it works for the occasional Papa Murphy's take-and-bake pizza.

It seems that the oven works for short periods, but not for the 4+ hours to roast a turkey.

Said bird had been in the oven for a couple hours when I smelled something that wasn't right. Sure enough, both oven elements were red hot and the oven thermometer read 400˚. Aside: I was sooo glad I had put the oven thermometer in a place in the oven where I could read it.

This began a couple of hours of turning the oven off for 5 – 10 minutes ::slow cooling::, then turning it back on for 5 – 10 ::FIERY FLAMES OF HELL::, then off for another 5 – 10. Rinse, repeat. The turkey turned out pretty good. No browned quite as much as we would have liked, but tender and juicy.*

Christmas dinner will be in the crock pot. Or the micro-convection oven.

* I read last week that to ensure that the breast meat is juicy to roast it breast side down for the first half of the cooking time, then turn it over. Probably a great plan, but you try flipping a 16-pound turkey partially cooked turkey sometime. I probably should have made twisted foil handle for it. Next time

This entry was posted in Food and Drink. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to We will not be having turkey for Christmas dinner. Or goose. Or duck.

  1. Carole says:

    Or, you know, you could buy a new oven. 😉

  2. Helen says:

    Time for a new stove, sounds dangerous as is. Glad you were home to not only rescue your cooking. Hope December is better.

  3. Bonny says:

    That picture is incredible! I actually do roast my turkey with the breast side down for the first half and then flip it. I wear oven mitts covered with gallon size freezer bags. I can get a good grip on the turkey but the mitts aren’t covered in turkey gunk.

  4. gayle says:

    What? Smokey and Da Boys haven’t figured out how to fix that thing yet? I am astonished.

  5. Guinifer says:

    Nesco Roaster

  6. Silvernfire says:

    I’m sure I’ve missed something: what is the reason for not buying a new oven?

  7. Julia says:

    I used to have a micro-convection oven and I loved it. Roasted/microwaved poultry was excellent. The only problem was the turkey had to be fairly small to fit.

  8. Lorette says:

    Oh my. Just oh my.
    That reminds me of our TG from hell. We had a dozen or more people around the table, including a friend who came without telling her then-husband where she was going because they were having issues. And my husband’s ex-wife (who still hates me) who had moved here to be closer to their adult kids and had nowhere to go for TG. And then the oven door fell off right in the middle of cooking the turkey. I almost swore off family diinners after that one.

Leave a Reply

