The first deck I cleared.

  Cleared close
The craft end of the laundry room. I am so proud of this I could bust.

 

Cleared left
A closer look. Labels on the baskets are, from upper left, Swatches, Misc balls of yarn (the ones that haven't gotten put away yet into the Tower Of Stash, below), FOs, Yarn bras & bags, Tools – knitting, and Tools – other. That last basket is my version of a tool box — hammer, screwdrivers, etc.

 

Cleared center
Handy and Bubbles (my glove and hat models) on top, ostrich eggs from South Africa, a plastic basket of miscellaneous tiny stuff that I didn't know what else to do with, and an empty basket. Please note how I cleverly maintained easy access to the electrical outlet.

 

Cleared right
Top: empty basket, my lightbox;
next: shallow basket holding the electronic postal yarn scale, another empty basket;
next: three large Zip-Locs holding bulky yarn and US#11 circs (gonna teach three little girls to knit next time I go to Sioux Falls);
bottom: multiple WIPs (wool ones in ziplocs).
The Leinie's case topped with a stoneware bowl is the stand for a 400W halogen work light that I use with the lightbox; that's why I kept the electrical outlet clear. Leftover tiny balls of yarn get thrown into the bowl. Swift and ball winder always at the ready.

 

Cleared tower of stash
Tower Of Stash. I sorted and reorganized this a month or two ago, so I didn't have to do anything major with it during my deck clearing. There are a couple more small Rubbermaids and a couple baskets on the floor, all full of yarn sorted into certain potential project categories.

 

Cleared white shelves
These shelves were a mess before. The top one was so full of cleaning rags that they were always spilling over the edge. The rags are now neatly folded and sorted into three small piles by type and moved to another cabinet. That means this one is all mine again. And the bottom shelf, not visible, is empty. Way up on top are a basket of seed packets and four project bags/basket. The basket holds the Fairfield WIP, each bags has the yarn and pattern for a project.

 

Sadly, I neglected taking before photos. Imagine that table in the first few pictures heaped with yarn, fabric, projects, swatches, patterns, and a hundred other things that are no longer there. The shelves that are now on the table came from a closet downstairs that is no longer being used much… last February. Then Smokey was in the hospital, then there was the campaign for county board, then there were all the summer parades and the fair, then emailing and organizing phone banks, then canvassing for the fall election, all the while knitting fingerless gloves for the farmers market and the craft fair, then it was Christmas. And then I did it.

This entry was posted in knitting, Miscellaneous, Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The first deck I cleared.

  1. gayle says:

    Wow! Well done, you.
    (Though I admit I’d like to pull the lids off the yarn bins and peek inside each and every one of them…)

  2. Bonny says:

    Job well done, and I like your carefully-worded title. Enjoy your ship-shape craft deck!

  3. Vicki says:

    Fantastic job!! Doesn’t that feel good?

  4. kim in oregon says:

    Beautiful. did you go out and buy all the wicker baskets (if so, where please) or were they just hanging around waiting to help you organize?

  5. Bonnie says:

    Good work! That’s really impressive.

  6. Carole says:

    That looks great! Now you have to keep it this way!

  7. Soxanne says:

    WOW! Just wow!

  8. mary lou says:

    Very impressive.

  9. =Tamar says:

    Sensei! I bow in impressed acknowledgement of your superiority!

  10. Julie says:

    Inspiring! Great job!

  11. Jocelyn says:

    I mean, it’s like you could be Martha Stewart’s best friend or something!

  12. June says:

    I’m proud of you, too! I just watched patternmaker Andrea Schewe clear out her sewing pencils and markers on her blog, so proud of the decluttering that’s going on.

  13. Lorette says:

    Well done. I really need to do some reorganizing in my office. Is that a wood swift you have? I’m thinking of putting one on my wish list. The old beat up plastic one is getting on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

