66 things I love, in honor of my birthday today. Because my birthday is all about me, right?Good

In no particular order:

  1. Cats, particularly the two I have now.
  2. Furry pets of (almost) any kind.
  3. Including my husband.
  4. Andrew and Matthew, the two younger on- and off-again furry youn’uns.
  5. Shrimp. Grilled, cold, even deep-fried. In Chinese food. Just not in the shell, please. I don’t want to work that hard. The consistently best shrimp I ever had were in  Houston; it didn’t matter whether I was in a white-tablecloth restaurant or a franchise diner in a mall — the shrimp were always excellent.
  6. Fudgey brownies.
  7. Good chocolate*, particularly if accompanied by ice-cold milk. Or wine.
  8. Red wine.
  9. Icy cold sauvignon blanc.
  10. Bleu cheese, the tangier the better.
  11. Black pepper Triscuits.
  12. Nachos. Just chips, molten cheese, and Chi-Chi’s mild salsa.
  13. The Internet.
  14. My iPhone.
  15. My iPad.
  16. Our lake. Right now the view is green leaves and needles against beautiful blue water.
  17. The lake on the rare occasion when there are whitecaps and the sky is storm-darkened.
  18. The lake in winter, spring, summer, and fall.
  19. The blaze of color that surrounds me in the fall.
  20. Reading a good mystery.
  21. Discovering a new-to-me author who has a backlist of at least a dozen books to seek out.
  22. A good latte in the morning.
  23. Getting an email or call from one of the boys young men.
  24. Knitting while watching TV. Also while listening to an audiobook, riding in the car, sitting in a meeting, or hanging with fellow knitters.
  25. The feel of yarn. I like sorting it and winding it into cakes almost as much fun as knitting it.
  26. Putting together combinations of yarn. (My version of designing.)
  27. Sitting in the rocker at Elder Son’s house with my feet on the matching glider ottoman (and knitting, of course).
  28. Sitting on the dock and angling my feet in the water.
  29. Taking a slow pontoon boat ride around the lake at dusk.
  30. Floating on an air mattress on a blistering hot summer day.
  31. Playing word games with Smokey.
  32. Hanging out with Smokey (it is always an unpredictable experience).
  33. Making a long drive solo with an audiobook.
  34. Making connections among people and organizations I know.
  35. Aerosmith, Beethoven, Billy Idol, Black Sabbath, Blind Faith, the Chieftains, Eric Clapton, Leonard Cohen, Creedence, The Doors, Emerson, Lake, & Palmer, Melissa Etheridge, Fleetwood Mac, Philip Glass, the Grateful Dead, INXS, It’s A Beautiful Day, Jefferson Airplane, Jethro Tull, k.d. lang, Zoe Keating, Leo Kottke, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Moody Blues, Sting, the Stones, George Thorogood & the Delaware Destroyers, Traffic, U2, Stevie Ray Vaughan, ZZ Top.
  36. Being able to listen to iTunes whilst on the computer.
  37. Reading a really good book. I just finished So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman, which started slowly and somewhat confusingly but really grabbed me by the end.
  38. Trying out some HTML and having it actually work.
  39. Computers in general. If I could live my life over again I would go into the computer field. It was such a baby industry when I started college that I couldn’t find it.
  40. Being cozy and dry in the house while a summer thunderstorm rages outside.
  41. Being cozy and warm in the house while a January blizzard rages outside.
  42. Going outside after a new snowfall.
  43. The heated seats in my Volvo.
  44. The smell of the earth after a summer shower.
  45. Driving Smokey’s convertible on a sunny, not-too-hot summer day with the radio blasting.
  46. Lilacs. Mock orange bushes. Lilies of the valley. Old roses. Sweet peas. (Find the common trait.)
  47. Seeing seeds that I planted actually come up.
  48. Trivia.
  49. Jeopardy!
  50. Learning new stuff.
  51. Criminal Minds, NCIS, Masterpiece Theatre, Masterpiece Mystery, Law & Order (all iterations).
  52. Netflix.
  53. Northern Exposure, Twin Peaks, WKRP in Cincinnati, M*A*S*H, Magnum P.I.
  54. Anything cooked on the grill.
  55. Putting on fingerless gloves and/or handknit socks when it is chilly.
  56. Making handknits to wear when it is chilly.
  57. Watching birds at the feeder(s).
  58. Coke Zero (although I have cut way back since I read that thing I linked to a couple weeks ago about what happens after one drinks a Coke).
  59. Art museums.
  60. Marx Brothers movies.
  61. Hannibal curling up behind my head on the pillow and laying his head on my ear… and purring.
  62. Playing computer solitaire.
  63. My library system. I can request from a catalog of 4+million items and have the item within a few days.
  64. A snack of tangy cheese, good crackers, kalamata olives (pitted), and wine.
  65. Running into people I know wherever I go in my county. The joy of small-town living.
  66. Did I mention my furry Bear?
  • I grew up with Hershey bars, so to me they are the epitome of milk chocolate. I am lukewarm about dark chocolate.
This entry was posted in memememe. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 66 things I love, in honor of my birthday today. Because my birthday is all about me, right?Good

  1. highlyreasonable says:

    Happy Birthday! It is all about you, so I hope you get to enjoy many, many of the things you love (maybe not the heated seats and blizzard today).

  2. gayle says:

    Happy Birthday! We could hang out quite happily, knitting to Stevie Ray and talking books and tv shows. And we wouldn’t even have to fight over the chocolate…

  3. Carole says:

    Happy Birthday! And thanks for sharing your list – I think it’s wonderful!

  4. Deb in PA says:

    Happy Bday! Yes, birthdays should be all about the person having it!

  5. Cathy-Cate says:

    Yes, it is TOTALLY all about you! Happy birthday, my dear!
    That is an awesome list. I heartily approved.

  6. Mary Jo says:

    This is a little late, but Happy Birthday! I hope you got to do and see a lot of the fun things and people on your list.

  7. Chris says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you’ve had a wonderful day.
    Mmmm… fudgey brownies…

  8. Jocelyn says:

    HAPPY DAY, my dear friend. I really love how you broke your list into pieces as you see fit and especially that you hit on wine and cheese more than once. I shall keep these preferences in mind for next time I see you. Hope you had some fabulous chocolate and a good mystery on your big day!

  9. June says:

    I am late, but I hope you had a lovely birthday!

Leave a Reply

