Ten on Tuesday: the visiting the country edition.

Since I already live in the country, I shall write about the things I love about it.

Tractors, etc. on outdoor display at an implement dealer.

A common sight.

Ten Five Things I Love About Being In The Country.

  1. The lush greenness during the summer.
  2. The beauty of the snow in winter. This is seldom apparent unless one is off the main roads.
  3. The wildlife. Last week an otter ran across the road as I was driving to the county fair. We have a pair of loons on our lake every summer. I have seen fox, bear, otters (the aforementioned one, plus occasionally one or two checking out the open water around the lake aerator in the winter), a porcupine, and more deer than I can count. We have bald eagles, barn swallows, bluebirds, cardinals, chickadees, crows, finches (gold- and purple), flickers, hawks, hummingbirds, kingfishers, nuthatches, orioles, robins,  turkey vultures, and woodpeckers (red-headed , red-breasted, downy, hairy, and pileated),and the occasional indigo bunting, rose-breasted grosbeak, and warbler.  Also tree frogs and spring peepers.
  4. The lack of crowds or traffic. There are a grand total of five (5!) stoplights in the entire county. Two people in line at the supermarket constitutes an unacceptable wait time.
  5. Seeing people I know everywhere I go. Of course, this has its good and its bad sides: if I screw up, everyone knows about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ten on Tuesday: the visiting the country edition.

  1. Sophanne says:

    A porcupine??? Really? I honestly didn’t know they just hung out. I thought they were zoo only kinds of critters.

  2. =Tamar says:

    Porcupines definitely hang out. They also chew on things.

  3. Carole says:

    Awesome list.

  4. Debra Henk says:

    Zero (0!) stoplights in Iron County. We used to have a caution light but they took it down. And if you go south and west of here, no stoplights in Reynolds County, Carter County, Shannon County either.

  5. Lily says:

    I love otters – they’re so much fun to watch!

Leave a Reply

