FO Friday.


IMG_2158 IMG_2156

Two pairs of socks that had been OTN for months (and months!) finally got finished last weekend. Both are made from Plymouth Yarn Socketta, colors 618 (left) and 5618 (right). I decided I was tired of plain vanilla socks when I started the ones on the left, so I created a little pattern stitch:

Row 1: *K4, sl1 with yarn in back.* Repeat around.
Row 2 & 3: K around.

Those slip stitches caused the sock to pull it a bit and become too tight, so I had to rip out about four inches of sock and start over with 66 st instead of my usual 60.  Don’t ask me  how my five-stitch repeat somehow worked with 66 st; either I actually had 65 st, or the pattern was K5, sl1. I don’t remember.

Both were knit according to my standard Wendy’s Generic Toe Up Sock pattern, with the above-noted variation.

Plymouth Socketta is 45% cotton / 40% wool / 15% nylon. Although the wool should give the yarn some elasticity and softness, such qualities were hard to discern. I hated knitting the pair on the left; the other pair, for some unknown reason, not so much. Maybe it was because I knew what to expect, maybe it was because there was no pattern stitch. Anyway, I have one more skein of a similar yarn in the stash.

It will be awhile before I cast on for those socks.

[digression] Anyone else ever attempt to put multiple images in a row on WordPress? It was darned near impossible not as easy as I expected. I googled for ideas (Google is my BFF!) and found a gazillion people asking the same question. Eventually I created a table — I had to copy the html from the place where I found the instruction, and it still took way longer than it should have — and that more-or-less worked. I had to resize the images manually, and I see in Preview that they are not quite lined up horizontally, but at this point I just.do.not.care.

Given the numerous inquiries I found on this issue, it baffles me why WP hasn’t put in a way to do this easily. Going back to TypePad is still an option. [/digression]

[digression the second] Just found a YouTube video that explains a different way to do it, one that I had tried unsuccessfully based on a different link. The video goes into much greater detail about exactly how to do it. I’ll try that next time. [/digression the second]

This entry was posted in FO, Socks, Technology and The Kat, Web/Tech. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FO Friday.

  1. loreen j clayton morrell says:

    I like your feet.

  2. gayle says:

    Spiffy socks! (Amazing what a difference that simple pattern stitch made, eh?)
    Can’t help you with the photos. My usual technique is copious application of curse words…

  3. sajorenna says:

    Love the socks – and glad to know I’m not the only one having blog photo issues 😉

Leave a Reply

